Help With Backing Up 3rd Party Apps

Discussion in 'iPad' started by lovexmadxevil, Jan 28, 2012.

1. lovexmadxevil

lovexmadxevil New Member

Hi All!

An Apple newbie here so I apologies if my question has been answered somewhere already on this forum. I have had a look but I have somewhat ended up confusing myself so if anyone can help me, with an "idiots guide to" approach I would be extremely grateful!

I have had my iPad 1 for 9mths and I successfuly jail broke it last year whilst running on iOS 4. whatever it was :) and downloaded my 3rd party apps etc. When iOS 5 came out I understood that if I upgraded my firmware I would lose my 3rd party apps unless I backed them up. (My knowledge of Cydia is very limited, to the point where all I have done with it is added the [pirating content deleted]). I have heard about aptbackup, but I am not sure if it is for windows or not? So I guess you could say that is my first question... Is it for windows pc's? If not is there an alternative I could use?

Second question, I didn't have many 3rd party apps so I did upgrade the firmware to iOS 5 did a new untethered jailbreak using redsn0w 0.9.10B3 (the before kept giving me an error in stage 1of the jailbreak)... Anyway, the iPad is working fine but on 2 occasions when browsing the Internet on safari I've had a pop up saying about limited memory, the exact wording I cannot remember. Is this something to worry about?

Any info in simple terms without abbreviations would be great and apologies for the lack of Apple/iOS knowledge... The iPad is my first Apple device apart from a clickwheel iPod ;)

Thanks!

B x

2. Napoleon PhoneApart

Senior Moderator

References to software piracy deleted. We neither condone nor discuss that here.

3. lovexmadxevil

lovexmadxevil New Member