Help with iOS7

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by Ross Taylor, Jul 26, 2013.

1. Ross Taylor

Ross Taylor New Member

I got iOS7 on my iPhone 5 and it worked a treat! During this time i made backups to my iMac. Unfortunately, the other day it stopped working on my iPhone and told me it was not allowed and stopped. I had to restore it so it now runs ios6.14. I need ios7 back so i can get back my files from the backups but whenever i try to reinstall it, the way i did the first time ,it says " The Device is not eligible for the requested build" I don't know what to do and I really need those files and your help! Thanks

2. EverythingApple

EverythingApple Evangelist
    Gold

How did you get iOS 7? What Beta version do you have? I think they're up to Beta 4. That might be your culprit. But, I'm not a developer, so I can't answer it completely. I'm just answering on what I've read.

3. Ross Taylor

Ross Taylor New Member

i did have beta 3 and thats when it cut off. My friend gave me the ios7 file but i don't have a udid

4. Ross Taylor

Ross Taylor New Member

Do you think its worth getting a UDID? Does anyone know where I can get one?

5. chris

chris Administrator
    Administrator

This free app will recognize and email you the UDID of your iPhone.

6. Ross Taylor

Ross Taylor New Member

I know what my UDID is, I was wondering if I should register it? would that help?

7. acosmichippo

acosmichippo Genius
    Platinum

That would do it, but unfortunately the UDID registering process has been down since Apple's developer site was breached. They are working on bringing parts of the site back up one at a time. No telling when the UDID registering will be back up.

So your only option to get your phone working right now is to restore back to 6.1.4. When the dev portal is back fully, then you can have a dev register your UDID and reinstall iOS7.

#7 acosmichippo, Jul 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2013
  8. Ross Taylor

Ross Taylor New Member