Help with moving from highly customizable Android phone to iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone Jailbreak' started by fanboy, Feb 5, 2012.

1. fanboy

fanboy Member
    Bronze

Hello all. My new iPhone from Verizon should be arriving in the next 18 hours.

I'm new to this, I'm coming from Android (Motorola original Droid). I have never owned an Apple product.

I understand that Android is more customizable than iPhone. I looked up comparable apps in the market that are similar to what is on my Android and with the exception of a few apps I should be able to do what I usually do with out trouble.

I understand that I cannot make the iPhone function like an Android, but I would like to make my life easier in switching to another OS in terms of function.

Widgets make things easier for me, I'd appreciate an arrow in the right direction for making them and all that stuff.

Ringtone also. I make my own. I purchased an iPod and installed iTunes on my PC, I find that iTunes and Windows really do not like each other. What am I going to have to entail when recording/edit my own ringtone and getting iTunes to put it on my phone?

I'm all ears for recommendaitons from you guys for new iUsers coming from Android.

2. showguy

showguy Member
    Silver

3. My-phone

My-phone Member
    Bronze

Windows and iTunes do play well together. You just have to figure out the manner in which the co-exist. You can copy ringtones from your computer via iTunes then to your phone. I don't know how I did it, but I copied downloaded ringtones and them moved them to my phone. I do know that you have to go to your iTunes 'Preferences" and find the 'Tones' sync. Then you have to do the same thing on your phone while it is attached to the computer. **I know. Pretty vague, but you can do it.**