Home WiFi not connecting

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rbaron, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. rbaron

    rbaron Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am sitting at home typing this on a MacBook Pro connected to my Airport Extreme router. Surfin' away to where ever I want.

    My iPhone on the other hand is using the "E" AT&T network.
    If I go into settings it shows my home network. When I tap on it it opens a new window.

    DHCP: 169.254 etc
    Sub Mask: 255.255 etc
    Router: blank
    DNS: blank

    So what do I need to do to get it connected to my home network?
    When I click settings then WiFi under "Chose a Network" my network has a "check mark" next to it but according to the top of the screen it is surfing using the "E" network.

    Can someone help?

    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. rbaron

    rbaron Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never mind.... I got my iPhone to connect to my network.
     
  3. AlexL99

    AlexL99 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have spent hours trying to get my new iPhone at home. I can connect to an open network, so it's not the iPhone.

    I have a linksys router. I have the correct key. I have tried changing DNS server, static IP , and a million other things that I have found on this forum and others.

    Is there anyone who can point me to something that might help.

    Thanks in advance
    A
     
  4. Snakeskinjacket

    Snakeskinjacket New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not enought information!

    Please describe: router model and settings (DHCP server or not, encryption: no, WEP, WPA, MAC filter: enable, disable and so on). iPhone settings too.
    Error message?
     
  5. mikewiththebke

    mikewiththebke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had the same problem with mine...

    you know when you scan for wireless routers and it comes up with yours...don't click it and enter the wep..

    you have to manually type in the router name and then select the security type ...

    i hope this helps!




     
  6. Gadgetgirlz

    Gadgetgirlz Guest

    I think I figured this out!

    WiFi password problem solved.

    I posted it on my blog, here is the Link

    I hope this works for you :)
     
  7. scandalex

    scandalex Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    So in order to know what may be so helpful, it requires visiting your blog to read? Guess I'm trying to rationalize it in my mind why you just couldnt post it here.

    You got a hit counter on your blog or something....?
     
  8. wusiswug

    wusiswug New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I first got my Touch, I was able to connect to the internet at home...all my settings were in place. Recently I haven't been able to connect and I noticed that all my settings are gone. How do I retrieve those settings? I always thought the Touch would automatically connect if there is a wifi in range. I'm able to connect everywhere else.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  9. Emerica

    Emerica New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you searched for the connection in range?

    Is your modem and everything on and internet working?
     
  10. wusiswug

    wusiswug New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I can see my network and it is connected (with a check), however the IP address fields are all blank.

    Yes, modem and wifi working fine on my notebook but not on my Touch.

    Thanks.
     
  11. teineg

    teineg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Os there a way that I can access any locked wi fi ports on my ipod touch 2nd generation
     
  12. Matthew G. Richter

    Matthew G. Richter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    1) Go to your Mac computer>Airport Utilities>Access>click the "+" button on lower right of screen>type in your phone's Wi-Fi Address>click Update
    2) To find your phone's Wi-Fi Address go to your iPhone>Settings>General>About>scroll down to "Wi-Fi Address"

    This solved the problem for both my 2G and 3GS phones. I now can use a password to access the network, and both my phones and my Macbook all connect no problem.
     
  13. uly

    uly Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been having problem with wi-fi connections for a while since updating to iOS 4.0.1 (jailbroken).

    Specifically, what happens is that I can connect to the wi-fi network as usual, and the wifi icon shows up in the status bar just fine. But when I actually use Safari to open a page, I will get a "no internet connection" error.

    At this point, if I check the DHCP details for the wifi network, I usually see that there is no IP addresses for router or DNS server, so I suspect this may be a DHCP error, but I can't be sure.

    The problem can usually be fixed by doing a hard reboot (NOT a respring), but sometimes the problem will persist even after a few reboots.

    Lastly, this problem happens rarely on my home wi-fi, but almost everytime on public wi-fi networks.

    Any idea how I can fix this problem?
     
  14. applejailescape

    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    20
    Have you tried resetting the network settings?
     
  15. Hawk

    Hawk Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Likes Received:
    241
    Almost sounds like the router is not set for dhcp.
     
  16. uly

    uly Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I've tried resetting the network settings.

    I'm tempted to think that it's a router error, too, but the fact is that this problem happens only with my iPhone. Other devices can connect to the network just fine, and the same problem happens to this iPhone on several networks.

    Alternatively, what happens sometimes is that I would be connected to the WiFi network, and the DHCP settings are showing up fine, but the WiFi icon won't appear in the status bar. When I fire up Safari, I get "Safari cannot open the page because it is not connected to the internet". If open SBSetting, I see that Wi-Fi is indeed off. But if I turn on Wi-Fi from SBSetting, then close SBS, then open SBS again, Wi-Fi will again be turned off. Basically, I cannot turn on Wi-Fi.

    EDIT:
    Even as WiFi appears turned off in SBS, I can still see my WiFi IP address at the bottom.
     
  17. Hawk

    Hawk Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Likes Received:
    241
    I have a weird problem at my girlfriends condo. If I connect before she does on her laptop, my phone knocks her off constantly. It seems that they were fighting for the same IP address. My solution was to statically set the IP address to something at the top end of the routers address range.
    Example. If her laptop is 192.168.1.10, the I set my IP as static to 192.168.1.120. So far there hasn't been a problem since.
    And it's ONLY with the iPhone, my laptop doesn't interfere with hers at all.
     
  18. uly

    uly Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh yeah, that's happened in one of my friend's place as well. Not sure if this applies to other cases, though.

    On my home network, there are 2 laptops plus this iPhone. I have set the WiFi router to always give a specific IP for each of these devices, so IP conflict shouldn't be a problem.
     
  19. Mthoroughbred

    Mthoroughbred Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Likes Received:
    96
    Try resetting the router thats happen to me before and that happens to do the trick.
     
  20. uly

    uly Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the only router I can reset is my own home router, and this is where I have the least problem. I can't really go around resetting people's routers, much less public hotspots.
     

Share This Page