How can I activate AT&T iPhone (1st gen) for use in Canada?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

jimmyjimmy64

Bronze
Sep 27, 2007
Hi guys,

I've got a problem. I am a Canadian resident who just bought an iPhone. I didn't realize that I had to activate it on AT&T before being able to use it. I thought that I just couldn't use it on any other carrier. In other words, I thought that I'd have full access to all of the features but could ONLY register it on AT&T.

Anyways . . . I'm looking for a safe way to activate the phone. I don't necessarily want to unlock it (if I don't have to). Is there any way of activating my phone while retaining the ability to restore it to factory condition. I don't want the process of activating it to void my warranty if I send it in.

What combination of update/iTunes/activation software will I need to use. Does the new update eliminate the possibility of activating my phone?

Any links to relevant info would be appreciated.

I'm totally bummed about this. I've been waiting for a very long time to receive my iPhone. I'm hating Jobs right now . . .

entong

Bronze
Sep 21, 2007
Hi guys,

I've got a problem. I am a Canadian resident who just bought an iPhone. I didn't realize that I had to activate it on AT&T before being able to use it. I thought that I just couldn't use it on any other carrier. In other words, I thought that I'd have full access to all of the features but could ONLY register it on AT&T.

Anyways . . . I'm looking for a safe way to activate the phone. I don't necessarily want to unlock it (if I don't have to). Is there any way of activating my phone while retaining the ability to restore it to factory condition. I don't want the process of activating it to void my warranty if I send it in.

What combination of update/iTunes/activation software will I need to use. Does the new update eliminate the possibility of activating my phone?