How can I permanently erase iPhone data (messages, contacts,photos)

Johnsally

New Member
Oct 15, 2013
2
0
1
#1
Hello, I need help! I want to sell my iPhone 4s, but there are many private messages, contacts, photos stored in my iPhone, I tried to delete them, but it is still recovered by some iOS data recovery program, I’mworried if someone get my personal information when I sell my iPhone, please help? how can I permanently erase iPhone text messages, contacts, photos before selling.
 

EverythingApple

Evangelist
Gold
Jul 28, 2010
3,864
225
63
North Jersey
#2
First sign out of iTunes, iCloud, iMessage, anything with an iTunes password.

Than,

Settings>>General>>Reset>>Erase All Content and Settings
 

hifly

New Member
Aug 7, 2013
13
0
1
#3
You can also restore the iPhone to factory settings via iTunes.
 

iPutz

Zealot
Silver
Nov 20, 2012
962
184
43
72
US Midwest
#4
Hello, I need help! I want to sell my iPhone 4s, but there are many private messages, contacts, photos stored in my iPhone, I tried to delete them, but it is still recovered by some iOS data recovery program, I’mworried if someone get my personal information when I sell my iPhone, please help? how can I permanently erase iPhone text messages, contacts, photos before selling.
After signing out or logging off of everything iCloud, iMessage or iTunes, go to Settings/General/Reset. At that point you have a number of choices, one of which is "Erase all content and settings". Selecting and executing that selection will securely erase all user content from the phone and return the phone to the condition it was in when you first bought it but with the current operating system still installed. Does that completely erase all user data from the phone? For all intents and purposes, yes. You can sell the phone with every confidence that your data will remain only with you. However, if you are totally paranoid, I'm sure somebody like the FBI, NSA, or any of those other government acronyms can get it back off of your device in spite of that, but John Q. Hacker.......NOPE.

The only sure method to remove all data is to physically, totally destroy the device, nuke the remaining pieces in a microwave, subject what's left to a direct lightning strike and then place the leftovers in hydrofluoric acid for a few years. That should do it.
 
Last edited:

iPutz

Zealot
Silver
Nov 20, 2012
962
184
43
72
US Midwest
#5
I should have added that turning off Find My iPhone followed by turning off iCloud before wiping out the phone, is essential to the next person who gets the phone being able to use the it. Otherwise they will need your iTunes username and password to activate the phone because of the security features of iOS7.
 
Dec 15, 2008
5,386
340
83
28
Pensacola, FL
#6
Of course another reminder is to remove your SIM card before handing it over to the buyer/shipping it to them.
 

Johnsally

New Member
Oct 15, 2013
2
0
1
#7
After signing out or logging off of everything iCloud, iMessage or iTunes, go to Settings/General/Reset. At that point you have a number of choices, one of which is "Erase all content and settings". Selecting and executing that selection will securely erase all user content from the phone and return the phone to the condition it was in when you first bought it but with the current operating system still installed. Does that completely erase all user data from the phone? For all intents and purposes, yes. You can sell the phone with every confidence that your data will remain only with you. However, if you are totally paranoid, I'm sure somebody like the FBI, NSA, or any of those other government acronyms can get it back off of your device in spite of that, but John Q. Hacker.......NOPE.

The only sure method to remove all data is to physically, totally destroy the device, nuke the remaining pieces in a microwave, subject what's left to a direct lightning strike and then place the leftovers in hydrofluoric acid for a few years. That should do it.
I heard this method will not permanently erase iPhone data, it still can be recovered by some data recovery,
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#8
I heard this method will not permanently erase iPhone data, it still can be recovered by some data recovery,
Nope. This method is safe. That data is encrypted anyway.
 

mordues

New Member
Sep 17, 2014
3
0
1
#9
First sign out of iTunes, iCloud, iMessage, anything with an iTunes password.

Than,

Settings>>General>>Reset>>Erase All Content and Settings
This doesn't work on jailbroken iPhones, it will be blank screen when you press Erase button.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#10
The fastest way to delete iPhone photos is to open the photos app, tap Photos on the bottom left, enter the Moments view, tap Select, then select photos you want to delete and remove.
This isn't what the OP asked and this thread is nearly two years old. He wanted to know how to erase all content from the phone prior to sale. The question has already been answered.
 

Lancetper

New Member
Mar 23, 2017
16
0
1
#11
How to erase messages ,contacts,photos from iPhone can be difficult for us , because no matter how we remove them , the messages and contacts are back with some recovery tool ,
 
Jul 10, 2018
1
0
1
#12
It is widely used by numerous users and enough for those who doesn’t store their important data on their device. Below you have a detailed steps on how to execute this:

Step 1: First Click on Settings icon on iPhone.
Step 2: Then scroll down from the list and select General option.


Step 3: Now choose Reset present at the bottom of the list and select Delete All Content and Settings.



This method is not safe when it comes to secure your important data as it can be easily recovered by using any recovery tool.

If you don’t want your data to get leak then we strongly advise you not to use this step. To ensure that there is no chance to restore your deleted content use the first method mentioned-above.

There is also another way through which you can remotely erase your iPhone and that is through – iCloud.
Here follow the steps:

1. Visit icloud.com and look for “Find My Phone” option.
2. Click on All Devices and then select your device.
3. From there you can erase your iPhone data.



To get to know now about more then please visit - iosdevicerecovery.info/blog/erase-iphone-data-without-restore
 

Ledsteplin

Genius
Gold
Oct 29, 2013
4,843
997
113
65
Florence, AL
#13
It is widely used by numerous users and enough for those who doesn’t store their important data on their device. Below you have a detailed steps on how to execute this:

Step 1: First Click on Settings icon on iPhone.
Step 2: Then scroll down from the list and select General option.


Step 3: Now choose Reset present at the bottom of the list and select Delete All Content and Settings.



This method is not safe when it comes to secure your important data as it can be easily recovered by using any recovery tool.

If you don’t want your data to get leak then we strongly advise you not to use this step. To ensure that there is no chance to restore your deleted content use the first method mentioned-above.

There is also another way through which you can remotely erase your iPhone and that is through – iCloud.
Here follow the steps:

1. Visit icloud.com and look for “Find My Phone” option.
2. Click on All Devices and then select your device.
3. From there you can erase your iPhone data.



To get to know now about more then please visit - iosdevicerecovery.info/blog/erase-iphone-data-without-restore
Can you show me where it says "Erase All Content And Settings" is not safe? Where did you see that?