How can I use an iPhone 3GS with Straight Talk?

Discussion in 'iPhone 3GS' started by Nicholas Farnham, Jun 12, 2013.

1. Nicholas Farnham

Nicholas Farnham New Member

Okay, I have worked on Windows PC's and built a few of my own, but I'm new to Apple and smart phones, and I have a few questions...

I'm with Straight talk and want to stay there, the iPhone my girlfriend gave me is a 3GS, with ATT, still has old simcard in it, even though it is long past contract and not active.

How can I use this with ST? I have heard rumors of an ATT sim card, but seen none on the ST or Walmart site. I saw the T-Mobile ones, but I have no clue how to unlock my iPhone to USE a T-Mobile one, provided that WOULD work. (I have iOS 6.1.3 whatever that means).

Also, is there a place I can read up on software vs factory unlocking? I would like to do one or the other but not sure which is easier or more reliable.

I plan to keep this phone and use it forever if it will let me, any tips, hints, or good reads?

Thanks! Please stick to the questions and subject matter, sorry if I seem new-ish or stupid lol.

2. besweeet

besweeet Contributor
    Silver

Software unlocking is very dependent on the version of iOS that you're using as well as the device's modem firmware, or baseband. IMEI unlocks (pretty much a "factory" unlock, simply put I guess) are the recommended ways to go, since nothing about the software matters, and the unlock works forever.

There are plenty of websites that offer unlocks, many for less than $10 with quick turnarounds. After your phone is unlocked, you should be able to pop in your new SIM card and start using it. For Internet and MMS, you might have to get the right APN settings from ST themselves before they work properly.

3. Nicholas Farnham

Okay, should I be able to get a factory unlock from att? Even though it has been so long? Also, the t-mobile sim card SHOULD work in an unlocked ATT phone right?

4. besweeet

besweeet Contributor
    Silver