How do i delete/restore/renew jailbroken iPhone 2G to defaults?

May 26, 2009
Hello, i am new to iPhones and i could use some help.

My sister just gave me her old iPhone 2G, which had already been jailbroken by one of her friends.

My goal now is to free up space and remove all my sisters stuff of this phone such as her music/videos/photos/contacts/apps etc, while still maintaining the iPhone in its current jailbroken and unlocked state (and without bricking my iPhone)

I don't know if you would call this a restore, or a renew, or a set to default settings etc.. but basically all i want is to remove all my sisters crap of this phone and re-fresh it to the way it would be if it was new, while still being jailbroken and unlocked. (not Apple factory non-jailbroken new)
^I hope that made sense.

I have done some Googling, and have become overwhelmed with too much iPhone info, much of which seems to cater to the newer 3g model, and none of it really outlines exactly how to achieve my goal, on my setup.

Maybe someone here can point me in the right direction to a guide that explains how i can accomplish my goal?

I appreciate any help.

Here is some extra info:
iPhone 2G
settings/about/version = 2.2.1 (5H111)
settings/about/modem Firmware = (04.05.04_G)
I use a PC. (no mac's here)

originalg00kster

Bronze
Mar 19, 2009
if you read around the forums, jailbreak and unlocking is actually a really simple process. Its just a matter of if you can read directions or not. I would say restore the phone as new, jailbreak it again and no need to unlock because its already unlocked and once unlocked it is always unlocked. download quickpwn and follow the instructions, there is a sticky up top if you need help.

its really really simple. hope that helps.

or another solution is to sync onto your pc and just re-sync it to your stuff. im sure that would work too.

May 26, 2009