How do i delete the email address which show up when composing a message?

1. latas

latas New Member

Hi All,

I am new to all this...but can someone tell me how to delete the email addresses which pop up for the contact when i type in the first couple letters of the contact in the 'to' bar? The previously used addresses will show even when the contact has been deleted.
  2. GailLA

GailLA Member Bronze

I'm not sure I understand the question, but I'll try. Keep typing and if the email address is not in your contacts, the pop up addresses will disappear when you no longer match one in your contacts or when you hit "return". If the address you want is one of your contacts that pop up, just select it. Hope that helps, but like I said, I'm not sure I understand.
  3. Avatar

Sponsored Advertisement

4. latas

latas New Member

Yes, you're on the right track but I don't want to be able to see the old email addresses again..some are really old. Is there a way to get rid of them? For example, if a contact no longer uses a particular email address and I delete it from my contact file, it still shows up.
  5. Ramesh

Ramesh Zealot Gold

I don't think you can. I've tried as well - no luck here...
  6. PhilipJohn

PhilipJohn New Member Bronze

There is a way to do it, I've done it. I know it involves removing your backup and restoring. I would call 1 800 myiPhone. And have them walk you through it. It was such a pain to do though I don't worry about it anymore. And I believe after a certian amount of time that you don't use those e mails it goes away.
  7. termleech

termleech Zealot Gold

I'm sure it's built like the email cache in outlook or mail on safari. It not only looks at your contacts folder, but it look at any email addresses you've used and suggests those as well.
  8. Dawgfan

Dawgfan Member Bronze

ahhhh, don't want the lady pulling up an email address of that OTHER lady if she gets ahold of your iPhone eh?
    :p