How much RAM in the iPhone 6S?

Discussion in 'iPhone 6S' started by Sschep1, Sep 12, 2015.

  1. Sschep1

    Sschep1 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Likes Received:
    21
    I'm trying to find out what the memory situation is for the iPhone 6S. I know, with Apple, that RAM isn't as big of a deal with iOS as it is for android operating systems. Androids usually require more memory because their software is lacking. Can anyone fill me in?? Thanks.
     
  2. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    I've seen reports that the 6a and 6s Plus both have 2GB RAM.
     
  3. Sschep1

    Sschep1 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Likes Received:
    21
    yes I read some articles but why wouldn't Apple just put that in the tech specs? It's almost like their hiding something.
     
  4. Superevangelist

    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Likes Received:
    7
    Someone posted a screenshot of a online chat with a Apple employee that it was 2gb of Ram.
     
  5. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    They have never advertised the RAM in their mobile devices that I remember. I guess they don't think it's relevant.
     
  6. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    Apple doesn't list RAM for iOS devices on the tech specs and they don't cover it in the Keynotes. We usually have to wait for the device tear downs.

    Everything I've read since the Keynote indicates 2 GB. It appears Apple has told their employees how much it has and that it is okay to disclose that. Also, 2 GB is in line with the A9 chipset it has.
     
  7. Sschep1

    Sschep1 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks guys. That clears things up! I just noticed in some situations more RAM would be nice to have. I'm glad they upped it.
     
  8. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    More RAM would also shorten battery life, wouldn't it?
     
  9. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    Apple claims that it will have identical battery life. Even though the battery has a slightly smaller capacity and the phone has more RAM, this is possible due to optimizations to decrease power consumption.
     
  10. acosmichippo

    acosmichippo Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    Theoretically. It's hard to say how much exactly. My guess is it would be negligible.

    Apple doesn't openly advertise their RAM specs because it's not an apple-apple comparison with other manufacturers. iOS handles memory differently than Android and Windows mobile, so it doesn't have the same memory requirements.
     

Share This Page