How to clear the camera roll?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Sign up

Macster

New Member
Bronze
Feb 21, 2007
68
0
0
Oregon
#2
I took a bunch of pictures on vacation and copied them to iPhoto. Now I don't know how to clear the camera roll short of deleting the pictures 1 by 1. Is there an easier way?
If you are using iPhoto, when you are asked to download the photos, you are given an option to delete the originals. It does this with my Cannon, as well as with my iPhone. I ususually have it delete the originals, and then I will transfer what, if any, of the photos I want to keep on the phone.

I just don't know if this 'delete originals' feature comes with other photo managing software.
 

Ace4261991

New Member
Silver
Jun 18, 2007
530
0
0
#3
I don't know how it is on mac but on my computer it pops up as a "camera" and it just displays all the pics i have taken from there i can easily just delete them all by highlighting them all and deleting them. once again i do not know hot it would work for mac im sorry
 
Last edited by a moderator:

jacjac2

New Member
Bronze
Jul 1, 2007
99
0
0
60
Texas
#4
When you go to iPhoto on the mac, before you tell it to import, check the box to delete originals from the camera, it gets rid of the Camera Roll pictures without having to delete one at a time.

Jackie
 
Jul 24, 2007
2
0
0
#5
but how do you delete if your forget to mark it "delete"

so i had 100 pics...and for whatever reason i didn't mark that the pictures should be "deleted" after importing to iphoto on my mac. So now i have all the pictures on the mac and i have not deleted them from the iPhone? Is there anyway to delete them all rather than indivdually?

I guess i could experiment with different ways...like importing again with the " delete" option on and then also deleting these duplicates from iphoto..but is there another way of deleting them all from the iPhone?
 

LauraBee

New Member
Bronze
Jun 21, 2007
85
0
0
Napa, CA
www.flyingcolorstattoo.com
#6
so i had 100 pics...and for whatever reason i didn't mark that the pictures should be "deleted" after importing to iphoto on my mac. So now i have all the pictures on the mac and i have not deleted them from the iPhone? Is there anyway to delete them all rather than indivdually?

I guess i could experiment with different ways...like importing again with the " delete" option on and then also deleting these duplicates from iphoto..but is there another way of deleting them all from the iPhone?
I have one pic on my phone that my daughter took of herself that pops up every time, the 'delete original' suggestion is so easy, why didn't I think of that? Duh.
 

stevetim

New Member
Silver
Jul 20, 2007
606
0
0
#7
Just for reference. On a Windows Vista PC, every time I plug my iPhone in USB, I get the options of what I want to do window. Import, View....

I usually just go to 'Computer', 2xclick on the iPhone which shows up in my list of devices, and proceed to click 'Apple iPhone', 'Internal Storage', 'DCIM', '100 Apple', and the pics are all thumbnailed in a window for me. From here I can just delete the bunch.
 

vanslam

New Member
Bronze
Jul 9, 2007
45
0
0
#8
I tried this but be aware if you have synced you photos before and when iphoto ask you to reload and you click no and click delete orginals, it won't. I have photos on my iPhone that won't go away since I refuse to reload them, don't want doubles.
 

donoshea

New Member
Jul 31, 2010
1
0
1
#9
The easiest way that I know of is:
1. Connect your iPhone to your Mac.
2. Open Image Capture and select your iPhone from Devices
3. When all of the images have been listed in Image Capture, Select All... (Cmd-A).
4. At the bottom of the window with the list is a Delete button next to the "Import To:" label. Click it.
5. Verify that you want to remove all of the images from your iPhone and let the application do its job.
Regards,
Don O'Shea
 

fithgear66

New Member
Bronze
Sep 8, 2007
169
0
0
#10
I tried this but be aware if you have synced you photos before and when iphoto ask you to reload and you click no and click delete orginals, it won't. I have photos on my iPhone that won't go away since I refuse to reload them, don't want doubles.
Go to photos(not camera)>camera roll>top right button>select photos>delete
 

dobymax

Member
Bronze
Oct 19, 2007
238
2
18
#11
I have double photos in my Photo Library. How can I delete one of each? It doesn't show a delete button on the bottom of the screen.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#14
Years later and still no 'Select All' option.
Too dangerous. I know someone with an Android who accidentally hit the delete all button. He was devastated as he had no backup of the photos and had never synced them to a computer. I agree with Apple on this one. Placing tick marks next to the photos you want to delete doesn't take long at all, and with a two-step delete, it's not something you are going to accidentally do. Even then, they now have a recently deleted folder.
 

chris

Administrator
Administrator
Jun 10, 2006
11,810
1,775
113
Long Island, NY
#15
Too dangerous. I know someone with an Android who accidentally hit the delete all button. He was devastated as he had no backup of the photos and had never synced them to a computer. I agree with Apple on this one. Placing tick marks next to the photos you want to delete doesn't take long at all, and with a two-step delete, it's not something you are going to accidentally do. Even then, they now have a recently deleted folder.
You bring up a very good point. I never thought about how easy it would be for someone to delete their entire library. With kids carrying their parents phones, I could see that happening.

I do think it should be an option, maybe deep within settings and have it require a password. Similar to deleting all content, but have it apply only to photos.
 

RoofMonkey

Genius
Gold
Jun 21, 2010
8,856
2,047
113
Florida
#16
You bring up a very good point. I never thought about how easy it would be for someone to delete their entire library. With kids carrying their parents phones, I could see that happening.

I do think it should be an option, maybe deep within settings and have it require a password. Similar to deleting all content, but have it apply only to photos.
But we now have the recently deleted album. So if you did accidentally delete all, you could so restore them, No?
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#17
But we now have the recently deleted album. So if you did accidentally delete all, you could so restore them, No?
Sure, but only if they survived the heart attack that would occur right after accidentally deleting it. :D

My question is how often do people want to delete their entire camera roll? I never have and I don't think I ever will want to. Tick marks are perfect, IMO. You can bulk-delete really fast with that without wiping the entire camera roll.
 

Ledsteplin

Genius
Gold
Oct 29, 2013
4,791
979
113
65
Florence, AL
#18
Sure, but only if they survived the heart attack that would occur right after accidentally deleting it. :D

My question is how often do people want to delete their entire camera roll? I never have and I don't think I ever will want to. Tick marks are perfect, IMO. You can bulk-delete really fast with that without wiping the entire camera roll.
I see a lot who upload all their photos to elsewhere, then want to delete all from the camera roll. I never upload all my photos at one time, unless I'm going to restore as new.