How to erase personal data - full reset, restore to factory settings

Miger97

New Member
Jan 29, 2008
5
0
0
#1
I need to give back my phone for warranty repairs. Never activated.
I was [FONT=&quot]Jailbroken and unlocked so I virginized it.
[/FONT][FONT=&quot]When the iPhone starts it is now at the activate screen.

I noticed however that when I connect it to PC - I see iPhone with my name and I can pull my old photos and songs, so I assume it still has my old personal data on it.

How can I erase all of it ? I don't want to show that it was ever used.

Thanks for help.
[/FONT]
 

zanDark

New Member
Dec 14, 2007
80
0
0
40
Athens - Greece
#2
have a look here at Hawk's reply 3 posts down and see if that helps you
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Hawk

Genius
Gold
Aug 2, 2007
6,682
241
83
49
ATL
#3
have a look here at Hawk's reply 3 posts down and see if that helps you
Make sure that you do a restore anyway, and do not restore your profile when it's done. Then go into the phone and into the settings, general, reset and then erase all content and settings.


(\_/)
(O.O)
(> <)
.O O*
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Hawk

Genius
Gold
Aug 2, 2007
6,682
241
83
49
ATL
#5
Just stole yours and added a couple things.. LOL
 

Miger97

New Member
Jan 29, 2008
5
0
0
#6
Make sure that you do a restore anyway, and do not restore your profile when it's done. Then go into the phone and into the settings, general, reset and then erase all content and settings.


(\_/)
(O.O)
(> <)
.O O*

Thanks for reply. When you say restore, I assume through iTunes.
Does that action alone erase all personal data and settings ?

Problem I have is that top half of my screen on the phone is dead, so I cannot get to settings, general, reset.
 

Hawk

Genius
Gold
Aug 2, 2007
6,682
241
83
49
ATL
#7
Thanks for reply. When you say restore, I assume through iTunes.
Does that action alone erase all personal data and settings ?

Problem I have is that top half of my screen on the phone is dead, so I cannot get to settings, general, reset.
yes, a general restore will erase everything. just don't restore your data afterwards.