How to restore from backup?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jwp, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. jwp

    jwp New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may have been asked many times, but how do I restore my iPhone 3g from the "backup"? Everytime I sync, it says its "backing up my iPhone". Where is this backup file?
    When I first attmepted to update to OS 3.0, I got some kind of error message and it locked up my phone (non-jailbroke). I ended up telling it to "restore". Unfortunately, it restored it back to the factory config. Lost all my contacts, photos, calendar entries, etc... Finally got the OS 3 update in and the next time I synced it replaced most of my contacts. Some contacts were still gone and all my pictures and calendar entries were still gone.
    So...sorry for the long story.....how does one just take your phone back to its last backup point?
     
  2. jdinner

    jdinner New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    With your phone connected in iTunes, right click the phone in "devices" on the left column and choose, 'restore from backup'
     
  3. jwp

    jwp New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, now thats simple. You would think that would be one of the "options" they would give you when you first connect. Thanks!
     
  4. Cobra302

    Cobra302 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    i actually just got off the phone with Apple support where they told me the same thing. lol, i should have come here first.
     
  5. RedStripe

    RedStripe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you Restore from Backup, what does and does not get restored? I've heard apps don't get restored, is that correct?

    I'm not talking about syncing apps. For example, if I've never used iTunes to sync my iPhone since the first day I activated it (except to do a backup), and have since downloaded 100+ apps directly on the iPhone through the App Store app, but never used the "Transfer purchases" to sync my iPhone apps to iTunes, will I lose all my apps when I do a Restore from Backup?
     
  6. Zanthe

    Zanthe #apple
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    298
    I've never really had occasion or need to restore my phone but have been thinking of doingReally starting to bother me when at times when I tap the end call button the phone just freezes. Been happening more and more.

    When I hook up to iTunes there is the button to restore to factory settings. But I want to restore from backup, right? Don't see that as an option.

    Can somebody tell me how to do this?
     
  7. Kriss

    Kriss Zealot
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    121
    When in iTunes, look for your phone to be connected, upper right corner for me.. Click on the device, then click on the Summary tab. The second block of info will have manually back up and restore. Just pick the restore from the list that pops up. That should do it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  8. Kriss

    Kriss Zealot
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    121
    Also..If those aren't showing up for you, try plugging your phone into your USB port.
     
  9. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,448
    Hit the restore button. When it's done restoring the firmware it will ask if you want to set it up as a new device or use your most recent backup.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  10. Ms Cola

    Ms Cola Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    Don't forget to backup first before you restore the phone. iTunes should ask you if it doesn't have a resent backup.


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  11. Zanthe

    Zanthe #apple
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    298
    That's the missing step I didn't know about...thanks everybody!

    So is it a good idea to restore and maybe it will settle this phone down?
     
  12. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,448
    If a hard reset didn't fix it, a restore is the next step.
     
  13. Zanthe

    Zanthe #apple
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    298
    OK...reluctantly I am going to do it. I've done lots of hard resets but clearly it's not fixing anything. But I am going to upgrade from 6.0 first. lol
     
  14. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,448
    You don't need to upgrade and then restore; you can just restore to 6.0.2.
     
  15. Zanthe

    Zanthe #apple
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    298
    Oh cool. Thanks. :)
     
Similar Threads
  1. nagyg
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    728
  2. Shlov1
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    881
  3. flightmedic
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    288
Loading...

Share This Page