How to tell the difference between 3G and 3GS?

Discussion in 'iPhone 3GS' started by jammy_dodger, Aug 27, 2009.

1. jammy_dodger

jammy_dodger New Member

Hi guys,

This is my first post and hoping to join the iPhone community soon!

I've come across a guy who has an iPhone 16GB 3GS for sale at quite a good price. Phone is apparently new with plastics, boxed with accessories and jailbroken with software 3.0.

I'm completely new to iPhone so my questions are:

1) How do I know if it's actually a 3GS and not a 3G in a 3GS case?

2) And how will I know if it's genuine?

3) Is there any way to check if it is actually jailbroken?

4) Is there any advice any one can give me about buying this in general?

Thanks guys

2. RossMc

RossMc Zealot
    Gold

1. There is no way to tell the difference by just looking at it. If you actually go to meet the person for the phone open the camera app and check that the slider is there to allow you to switch to video mode. Also check that there is a compass application on the phone and also hold the home button down to check if voice control comes up.

2. I would tell the guy to give you the serial number of the iPhone so you can check it out then once you get this go to https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do and type the serial number in and this will tell you what type of iPhone it is and also how much warranty is left on the device.

3. There is no way to really check unless you see the phone itself if you do look for a application called cydia installed on the phone that will tell you that it is jailbroken. Even if it is and you don't want it to be its just as simple as doing a restore in iTunes which will remove the jailbreak.

3. Avatar

Sponsored Advertisement

4. jammy_dodger

jammy_dodger New Member

Thank you for your detailed reply. I do plan to go see the phone in person so I can check all the things you've mentioned.