How to transfer pictures to iPhone w/out iTunes?

  1. drumthrasher109

    drumthrasher109 New Member Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I want to sync my pictures with iTunes, I'll have to remove all my applications that are actually on my iPhone. Why? I have no idea, and that isn't something I am going to do, because 90% of my apps aren't on my computer (let's just say they weren't "legally purchased".)
     
    #1
  2. Saverino

    Saverino Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Likes Received:
    47
    Your computer should detect the iPhone as a camera as well, so open up whichever photo program you have and sync them like that.

    EX: Mac: Plug in your iPhone -> Open up iPhoto -> Sync.
     
    #2
  3. Avatar

    Sponsored Advertisement

  4. wise1tom

    wise1tom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    or you can sync it in blue tooth and send photos too and forth
     
    #3
  5. Saverino

    Saverino Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Likes Received:
    47
    Can't do that with the iPhone.
     
    #4
  6. wise1tom

    wise1tom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did on my imac with a few photos
     
    #5
  7. Picazzo

    Picazzo Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    Use SSH on the iPhone and some FTP program (WinSCP, FileZilla etc.) to Transfer your pictures without using the iTunes.
     
    #6
  8. drumthrasher109

    drumthrasher109 New Member Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried it via SSH but I want it in folders (and SSH sucks, I just use Total Commander), not just separate images.

    I tried just dragging them on there since it is detected as a camera, but I can't transfer anything on there. I can only copy them to my computer or just delete them altogether.
     
    #7
  9. BigCiX

    BigCiX Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5
    Or u can upload pictures on your pc to a website that'll host pictures then open up that website and save them with the hold and save option on this phone. Sorry I can't reveal the names if the website. The mods will kill me.
     
    #8
  10. llrickman

    llrickman Contributor Silver

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    25
    If your on a mac it should appear under devices

    If your on pc it should appear under my computer just drag n drop thats the way i have done it in the past
     
    #9
  11. Picazzo

    Picazzo Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'll guess that you're using the iPhone plugin for Total Commander?

    Why can't you transfer the files...I just read about this plugin here.
     
    #10
  12. drumthrasher109

    drumthrasher109 New Member Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know where to put them!

    I can transfer single images to the 100APPLE folder (not sure what the 999APPLE folder is for), but I can't transfer whole albums. I have over 2000 photos that I want to put on and I want them to be in albums.
     
    #11
  13. Picazzo

    Picazzo Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have you looked into this:

    /private/var/mobile/Media/Photos/
     
    #12
  14. drumthrasher109

    drumthrasher109 New Member Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you not know how the photos on iPods and iPhones work? They are stored in a "Photo Database" file, usually in the Photos folder somewhere on your iPhone. There are TONS of apps where they can take the photos from that file, but it can't put stuff in it.
     
    #13
  15. Picazzo

    Picazzo Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah - I know that...;) But, maybe there's a program to convert this "Photo Database" file...I don't know.

    But I'll guess that you have search all over Google...haven't you?
     
    #14
  16. drumthrasher109

    drumthrasher109 New Member Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I'll have to just let iTunes delete all my applications and I'll have to put them all on again...
     
    #15
  17. Picazzo

    Picazzo Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    Before you restore and re-jailbreak you maybe wanna take an look here.

    Maybe there is one for Installer also...if you're using this one!
     
    #16
  18. drumthrasher109

    drumthrasher109 New Member Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not restoring.

    See, when I choose the folders that have the pictures that I want to sync with in iTunes, and click Apply, it will say that I have to remove my apps because "I'm not authorized to play them". SO I just removed them all and I have to download them all again...all 70+ of them.

    And AptBackup just does jailbroken apps.
     
    #17
  19. Picazzo

    Picazzo Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you talking about cracked applications...the ones from AppStore?
     
    #18
  20. Picazzo

    Picazzo Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    ...you got silent on the last one...:cool:
     
    #19
  21. Saverino

    Saverino Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Likes Received:
    47
    You did this with the iPhone?
     
    #20

Share This Page