How to use OpenSSH?

CanSpec

Bronze
Mar 5, 2008
Could someone please tell or show me how to use OpenSSH and winscp. I am just new at this and would like to learn how. Thank you for your time!:)

overbo0st2k4

Bronze
Oct 17, 2007
On your iPhone:

Go To Installer and Download OpenSSH.
Connect to your favortie WiFi.
Go into:
Settings > WiFi > Tap the ">" next to the WiFi you are connected to > Note down the IP Address.

On your PC:

Download and install WinSCP.
Open WinSCP
For "Host Name" Enter your iPhone's IP Address that you noted from above.

For "User Name" Enter "root"

For "Password" Enter "alpine"

For "File Protocol" Select "SCP"

Click "Login"

The first time you connect it will take 30-45 seconds, maybe longer.

Then you're connected :)

In case you had any issues, I attached a pic.

CanSpec

Bronze
Mar 5, 2008
On your iPhone:

Go into:
Settings > WiFi > Tap the ">" next to the WiFi you are connected to > Note down the IP Address.

On your PC:

Open WinSCP

Click "Login"

Sorry to bother you again...but I followed your instructions and it gives me a "connection refused" error? Any idea on what that is about? Thanks

CanSpec

Bronze
Mar 5, 2008
Sorry to bother you again...but I followed your instructions and it gives me a "connection refused" error? Any idea on what that is about? Thanks
Got it working! Thanks! Just a question though...I see that I have an iPhysics folder in my iPhone even tho i removed that app long ago...can I safely delete this folder from my phone using WinSCP? Thanks for your help.:)

jpetticrew

Bronze
Sep 25, 2007
Houston
As long as you don't use iPhysics anymore, you should be ok deeting it.

lanyongk

Mar 12, 2008
does your ipod need to be connected to the internet.Can you use the cord thingy?

Dec 18, 2008
Cannot connect using OpenSSH

On your iPhone:

Go into:

On your PC:

Open WinSCP

Click "Login"

I cant seem to connect either. I've installed BSD 2.1 and OpenSSH 4.6p1-2 on firmware 1.1.4 on an iPhone 2G.