I DO NOT want to pay an extra $20 for data, is it possible?

Jul 6, 2007
Okay, someone tell me if this is possible at all: my family has a FamilyTalk plan and I want to add a line for the $9.99 extra a month, but DO NOT WANT DATA. I am convinced that I will have no use for EDGE at all- I don't care about web browsing and mini-apps wherever I am, I can just use WiFi. Can someone tell me if this is a possibility? Even though AT&T "requires" it, I'm sure there is some sort of workaround.

Britna

Bronze
Jul 1, 2007
Okay, someone tell me if this is possible at all: my family has a FamilyTalk plan and I want to add a line for the $9.99 extra a month, but DO NOT WANT DATA. I am convinced that I will have no use for EDGE at all- I don't care about web browsing and mini-apps wherever I am, I can just use WiFi. Can someone tell me if this is a possibility? Even though AT&T "requires" it, I'm sure there is some sort of workaround.
I'm not an expert on this, but I don't think you can do that. Why don't you call ATT? Then let us know here? =]

Jul 6, 2007
Well, I've heard a lot about how AT&T doesn't work well with iPhone activation and its just a big pain. I was wondering if anyone else did what I want to do.

Draven

Bronze
Jun 5, 2007
Have to have the data plan for the phone to work. Period. No ifs ands or buts about it. One major facet of that would be your visual voicemail wouldn't work without it. Not to mention all the other data like the Weather, Mail, Maps, etc.

Besides, $20 bucks for unlimited data is awesome compared to data plans for other similar phones, which is usually $40 a month extra.

minivini

Bronze
Jul 6, 2007
Well, I've heard a lot about how AT&T doesn't work well with iPhone activation and its just a big pain. I was wondering if anyone else did what I want to do.