I really did it this time.

moreofhim

Sep 23, 2007
I'm not very good with computers so I probably shouldnt have tried this but I had 1.1.2 and wanted to jailbreak my iPhone because a friend showed me a website that said i could tether my iPhone's internet for use on my laptop.

So I found the guide on the sticky in this forum, downloaded the 1.1.1 firmware and downloaded the apptapp installer. I shift/clicked on restore after it was in DFU mode and I got the 1015 error. Now the problems started, no matter what i did i could'nt get apptapp to install. It either kept freezing at the 4th step or it said "Failed to send to iPhone". i tried doing it with iTunes open, iTunes closed, nothing worked. I tried to restore with 1.1.1 3 times and apptapp never installed.

This is also a big mistake i probably made, I found an article that I thought might help and instead of reading everything (I was pretty frustrated by now) I just started doing.

My iPhone is already Cingular so i don't need it unlocked. I downloaded the iphuc program, and went through those 4 lines that needed to be typed in and my phone restarted. As soon as it restarted though I thought that this process may be for trying to "unlock" the phone so i stopped. I figured that by now i had probably screwed my phone up so bad that I should just stop all of this nonsense and just restore to earlier in the evening. I tried that and I got an error, "unknown error - could not restore". Now the phone is in recovery mode so I tried to restore to the factory settings (which sucked because i had to let it download 1.1.3 on my slow connection) and I got this error after it tried installing the software - "The iPhone “iPhone” could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (2003)."

So now i have an iPhone in recovery mode that I can't really do anything with that I probably unintentionally changed some code on it that might brick it. Besides slapping myself in the face for being an idiot, is there anything i can do?