If i set my phone back to factory settings, will i be forced to update to 5.1?

Discussion in 'iPhone 4S' started by hmfc-1874, May 3, 2012.

  1. hmfc-1874

    hmfc-1874 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Likes Received:
    34
    Right, if i set my iPhone back to factory settings, through the phone its self. Will i be forced to update to the most uptodate FW 5.1 (i don't want to do so i can re jailbreak phone) ?

    Sorry if this is in the wrong section, struggling with not having the iPhone app working.
     
  2. Tinman

    Tinman Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Likes Received:
    183
    Yes.



    Michael
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  3. hmfc-1874

    hmfc-1874 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Likes Received:
    34
    Dam, cheers for getting back to me :)
     
  4. Tinman

    Tinman Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Likes Received:
    183
    I'm in the same boat. One restore and I lose my jailbreak.




    Michael
     
  5. hmfc-1874

    hmfc-1874 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yeah its a nightmare like. Can i ask, see you cyida tweaks. Can you configure any of your cydia apps by going to the iPhone settings?
     
  6. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    Some Cydia apps do show up in the stock iPhone settings menu:

    3145389e.jpg

    And can be at least partially configured from there.
     
  7. hmfc-1874

    hmfc-1874 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yeah None show up on mines, and i know the ones that should as they came up on previous jailbreaks on my 3G
     
  8. Tinman

    Tinman Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Likes Received:
    183
    Try reinstalling a cydia app that uses the stock settings app for configuration. If it adds it, reinstall more. Or just reinstall them all.



    Michael
     
  9. hmfc-1874

    hmfc-1874 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Likes Received:
    34
    tried this, what if i delete sbsettings and reinstall?
     
  10. Tinman

    Tinman Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Likes Received:
    183
    Well that app doesn't put anything in Settings. Try an app that you know uses Settings. SBSettings might uninstall Activator but I am not 100% sure (Activator does use Settings).




    Michael
     
  11. hmfc-1874

    hmfc-1874 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Likes Received:
    34
    sorry i mean the sub structure, you think its worth the punt because the downside is it will delete most of my cydia apps
    ?
     
  12. Tinman

    Tinman Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Likes Received:
    183
    Well you can easily reinstall. Personally I would reinstall everything except Cydia itself and then reinstall one by one.



    Michael
     
  13. hmfc-1874

    hmfc-1874 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Likes Received:
    34
    I uninstalled the mobile substrutor, and this worked !thank god
     
  14. Tinman

    Tinman Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Likes Received:
    183
    Yay!



    Mike
     

Share This Page