I'm having problems with iCloud Photo Library and I'm looking for help to end the madness!

Discussion in 'Windows PC and iPhone' started by GadgetGuru72, May 30, 2017.

1. GadgetGuru72

GadgetGuru72 New Member

Ok, so here's the deal ...

I'm brand new to the iCloud Photo Library thing because this is the first time I've had an iPhone with high enough capacity to even consider leaving a sizable number of photos on my device.

Anyway, I now have 2990 photos and videos on my device, and turned on iCloud Photo Library.

As expected, if I go to the iCloud website, it shows I have 2990 photos and videos.

I downloaded iCloud for Windows, and was disappointed to learn that it does not offer a true sync. But, I'll live with it.

If I click the "download" button in iCloud for Windows, it also shows I have 2990 photos and videos, so everything appears to be as it should be.

Here's the problem: once everything is downloaded, I only end up with 2951 photos and videos, so 39 files aren't downloading. I've tried researching the issue and trying to figure it out, but I'm not finding anything at all that might explain why iCloud has 2990 photos and videos, displays that it has that number, but downloads 39 fewer files.

Any ideas? This is driving me mad.

2. Europa

Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

This is difficult to troubleshoot since you have so many photos and might take a long time to go through and find what's actually missing. My guess is the missing 39 are either duplicates or an error occurred during the download process.

If you want to take the time, you could go through and cross-check to see if anything is actually missing and try downloading them individually or delete the batch and try downloading it all again.

3. GadgetGuru72

GadgetGuru72 New Member