I'm new and i have a few questions.

jr3650sp

Aug 30, 2009
I was given an iPhone 3g and I want to use it as a pay you go phone. Do I need to avoid iTunes altogether or do I need to jailbreak the phone then unlock? I figured there is a way to use it b/c of all the undermining that can be done but my smartphone knowledge go as far as blackberries and moto qs. Please no one tell me it can't be done b/c I know it can but I have limited knowledge of iPhones.(Thanks in advance.)

Europa

Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
Utah
Welcome to EiC :)

Using AT&T pay as you go is tricky. I only know one person here that has it working. I've seen many threads where people tried to get it working, but never could. Therefore, I recommend using a T-Mobile prepaid SIM. Do you already have a prepaid SIM card? I can give you some step by step instructions on how to jailbreak and unlock it if you want.

jr3650sp

Aug 30, 2009
If you could instruct me that would be good. I have a tmobile prepaid sim I could use. The reason I ask about the pyg is on youtube I've seen it run but somehow you have to cut off data service in the sense of 3g or cellular data. I did a little research and it seems you have to have the carrier suspend the data service is it true? Thanks for your help. Also after a restore on the phone do you need to connect to iTunes to set it up the phone. My friend erased all the apps and everything but the personal data so I told them I would erase their info.

Europa

Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
Utah