Install F.lux Clone Without Jailbreak

Discussion in 'iPhone 6S' started by Napoleon PhoneApart, Oct 10, 2015.

  1. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,463
    GammaTest is an f.lux clone and is installable on non-jailbroken iPhones. You need a Mac and Xcode 7 to compile and install. This won't work if you're on a beta version of iOS 9 unless you download the latest Xcode beta, as I found out. I restored to iOS 9.0.2 and it worked.

    Instructions are here. Have fun!

    IMG_0001.PNG
     
    #1 Napoleon PhoneApart, Oct 10, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2015
  2. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,513
    Thanks! I just got it installed. It's a little different from f.lux, but it serves the same purpose and it's nice to have it back. It's one of the big things that I miss when stock.

    IMG_3061.JPG
     
  3. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Looks interesting, at the very least. Does it offer other customization options besides the Gamma Thingy?

    UPDATE: I've found my answer. No need for a reply. So basically it's a clone of this… https://justgetflux.com
     
  4. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,463
    "Install F.lux Clone Without Jailbreak"

    "GammaTest is an f.lux clone..."

    So I take it you read neither my thread title nor my post?
     
  5. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Busted! You're right. I read nothing. I was typing with my eyes closed! My bad :)
     
  6. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,463
  7. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,513
    Thanks. I just got it installed. I love the 3D Touch functionality.
    IMG_0197.jpg
     
  8. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,513
    @acosmichippo, have you installed Goodnight yet? I remember you said f.lux was your favorite jailbreak app.
     
  9. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,646
    Cool. I'm installing Xcode now and am going to give this a shot.

    EDIT: Piece of cake. :)

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1444574659.603274.jpg
     
    #9 Kadelic, Oct 11, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2015
  10. 47seijar

    47seijar Zealot
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Likes Received:
    126
    My build keeps failing. I'm a total noob at this. I was under the impression that you didn't need a developer account if you were only building/testing apps on your own system for personal use only. Am I wrong about this? Do I need a $99 developer account?
     
  11. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,646
    You do not need a developer account. Did you watch this step-by-step video?



    Edit: You can skip to 5:30 if you already have the file downloaded.
     
  12. acosmichippo

    acosmichippo Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    nah, too much work.
     
  13. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,463
    Agreed. Took me thirty seconds. :D
     
  14. 47seijar

    47seijar Zealot
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Likes Received:
    126
    My problem was that I had begun to register my regular Apple ID for a developer account but stopped when they wanted to charge me $99 for one year. I was far enough along in the process that I could not use my Apple ID in Xcode because my registration was in-process but incomplete. I signed up for another quick Apple ID with a different email address and it worked. Took a few minutes to get my new 6s Plus recognized but ultimately I was successful. I now have Goodnight on my iPhone. :D
     
  15. 47seijar

    47seijar Zealot
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Likes Received:
    126
    I installed this app more as an exercise - really just to see if I could use Xcode to accomplish a relatively simple task. But I love GoodNight!! Makes using the phone so much more pleasurable at night or in darn environments. I'm actually surprised by how much I like it.
     
  16. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    971
    No Mac or Xcode 7 :(
     
  17. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,646
    Is the automatic color changing for temperature in GoodNight working for anyone? I've got it turned on but it doesn't toggle itself off/on at 7am/7pm like it's supposed to.
     
  18. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,513
    I haven't checked that since the preset times aren't good for me and they aren't customizable in Goodnight. The automatic color changing works fine with Gammy Thingy and it has customizable times. I didn't want both apps on my phone, so I deleted Gammy Thingy and I'm sticking with Goodnight with manual settings.
     
  19. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,463
    You're so cute when you mispronounce "GammaThingy." :)
     
  20. pietroune

    pietroune New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got installed! The 3D Touch functionality is pure gold :D
     

Share This Page