iO6 - Should I upgrade?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Sanjeev, Sep 12, 2012.

1. Sanjeev

Sanjeev Member
    Bronze

I have 4S and operating system 5.1.1. Is it possible to upgrade to iO6? And would it be wise to do so?

2. Iloveiphones

Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

Yes, of course! It's highly recommended you do!

Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app

3. Avatar

Sponsored Advertisement

4. MADTJ

MADTJ New Member

It's not out yet. I think it will rollout by Wednesday 19th. I do not know what time it will come out tho.

5. Sanjeev

Sanjeev Member
    Bronze

Thanks for your reply. But I am concerned with Maps... I would like to explore the Map service offered by Apple but at the same time I don't want to lose Google Maps. Can I keep both maps?

6. Munchkinsdad

Munchkinsdad New Member

iOS 6 is really nice. It's not earth shattering, but some of the changes, especially maps, is great! I've been using the new maps for a couple of months now and it's very smooth. I have heard some people say its terrible but my experience with it has been the total opposite. I would get so agitated with google maps! iOS 6 maps has worked so much better for me. Sure, it's still in beta, it can only get better.

7. Target

Target Evangelist
    Gold

I'm having the same thoughts: since google maps and you tube were part the iOS, when you upgrade the iOS to 6, will they be removed? I'm not yet convinced they'll stay.

Target

Sent from my iPad2 using iCafe app

8. Munchkinsdad

Munchkinsdad New Member

Yes, both are removed. But you can get the stand alone YouTube app. It's quite nice

9. Target

Target Evangelist
    Gold

I already downloaded the YouTube app. It's good. I use maps several times a day. So I'm hoping to have a good experience like you.

Target

Sent from my iPad2 using iCafe app

10. jpmihalk

jpmihalk Member
    Bronze

iOS6 runs quite nicely on the 4S. I would definitely recommend the upgrade!

11. Mthoroughbred

Mthoroughbred Contributor
    Silver