iOS 6 and memory loss

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Bolygon57, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. Bolygon57

    Bolygon57 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ever since upgrading to iOS 6 on his iPad 2, my husband has been plagued with memory loss (not him, the iPad, lol). Within a few minutes of opening the iPad, it goes from full down To nothing...at this point, the iPad is rendered useless and he has to get out and clear the system.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. Bolygon57

    Bolygon57 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    E ER since updating to iOS 6, my husband's iPad 2 loses memory. It goes from full lot nothing in 5 minutes. He has to stop and clear the system all the time.
    I suggested doing a factory restore and starting again. Any ideas other than that?
     
  3. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    Are we confused with the battery, not memory?


    Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
     
  4. Bolygon57

    Bolygon57 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope..it's memory...
     
  5. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    ARe we talking about memory (RAM) or GB storage?
     
  6. Bolygon57

    Bolygon57 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    RAM---he finally conceded to do a factory restore. The problem seems to have been fixed. Thanks
     
  7. EverythingApple

    EverythingApple Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Likes Received:
    217
    Make sure you delete apps in the background not being used. They'll consume your RAM.
     
  8. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    And how in the bejeebers did you figure out his ram was going from 512MB to 0?


    Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
     
  9. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,757
    Just buy an iPad2 with iOS6 installed. Easy.
     
  10. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    I have iPad 2 with iOS 6....


    Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
     
  11. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,757
    Then consider your self lucky. It becomes very laggy and unusable unless you start cleaning stuff up.
     
  12. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    Uh....I think there is something wrong with yours then...mine runs very smooth, and Apple just basically released iPad 2 Jr. SS processor.


    Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
     
  13. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,757
    It was fine before ios6 and there's plenty of people with the same issue, just google it.
     
  14. raqball

    raqball Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Likes Received:
    199
    There are apps for that! LOL

    Seriously though, I use an app called 'System Status' on my iPhone, iPod Touch and on my iPad when I had it.. It's a nifty little app loaded with information about the system..

    Linky -----> https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/system-status-activity-monitor/id401457165?mt=8
     
  15. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    I already have that. :) Thanks though.


    Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
     
  16. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,246
    That's odd considering iOS is supposed to be quite adept at managing RAM--one of the reasons why Apple gets away with not having to stuff their iPhones with 2 gigs of RAM like some other handset makers (I'll refrain from mentioning names, like Samsung with their Galaxy S III handset, among others). As Benny stated, is seems to be a known issue, but don't panic just yet, iOS 6.01 should be right around the corner with bug fixes aplenty.
     
  17. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,438
    Part of the blame for the bugs is that developer slots are occupied mostly by kids and hobbyists who just want to play with the betas; they're not interested in looking for and reporting bugs.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
Similar Threads
  1. Kenny65
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    926
Loading...

Share This Page