iPad as a phone ?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by bikerboy, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. bikerboy

    bikerboy Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    Any idea if there is a way to use your Ipad 3 or Ipad mini as a Phone ?
    not VOIP , regular phone to dial and text via GSM ?
    I know there is an app for the ipad " 1 " but i am looking to use the 3 or the mini
    Thanks in advanced sorry if repost.
     
  2. raqball

    raqball Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Likes Received:
    198
    Can't be done!

    The only way is via VOIP as none of the iPads have the hardware needed for true cellular use..
     
  3. bikerboy

    bikerboy Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    how come there is a software to use the first ipad as a phone ?
     
  4. raqball

    raqball Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Likes Received:
    198
    What software are you talking about?

    The iPad does not have the hardware built in for it to be used as a cell phone. VOIP apps / software is the only solution..

    The only app I'm aware of that is non VOIP is for a jail broken iPad 1 that tweaks the 3G band or something like that. I think it's called Phoneit in Cydia but you will also need a phone SIM card in the iPad for it to work.

    No clue if its available for anything other than the iPad 1 though.

    Just use VOIP.. I do and it works great!

    Edit to add:

    Found this link for PhoneIt

    http://www.iPhoneislam.com/phoneitipad/

    iPad I only as you can read on the website
     
  5. bikerboy

    bikerboy Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    yep that is the one i meant, wish there were apps for more that just the ipad 1 , that would make a huge iPhone :p
     
  6. raqball

    raqball Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Likes Received:
    198
    I have the LTE Mini and VOIP works great over WiFi and LTE.

    Use Talkatone and Google Voice, problem solved! :)
     
  7. bikerboy

    bikerboy Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    That would work good with an American number but there is no way to pick an international number to receive call, lets say a middle eastern or east Europe number.


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  8. greenyoga

    greenyoga Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does skype works?
     
  9. bikerboy

    bikerboy Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    skype is still a VOIP
     
  10. raqball

    raqball Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Likes Received:
    198
    Unfortunately VOIP is going to be the only solution..
     

Share This Page