iPad message app issue

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#1
Here's the thing. When you open the message app there's a split screen with the person you message on the left and the conversation on the right. Hopefully I just haven't figured it out and someone can help but surely there's a way to not have a conversation constantly be in view on the right depending on who is highlighted on the left. It's not a huge deal which is what makes it utterly dumb if they designed it this way. I shouldn't have to delete every message simply to hide a conversation. It should automatically hide until I tap on the contact on the left and open it back up but as far as I can see there's no way around to not highlight a contact and have the conversation in full view. Thanks
 

Rafagon

Genius
Gold
Dec 7, 2011
7,566
1,254
113
44
Miami, Florida
#2
I don’t own an iPad but I know the screen you’re talking about. You could start a “dummy” conversation with yourself and tap on that, effectively hiding all the other “real” conversations that may contain sensitive information.
 

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#3
I know what you're saying but that isn't a fix and this shouldn't even be an issue as it is something so obvious. Thanks though.
 

RoofMonkey

Genius
Gold
Jun 21, 2010
8,881
2,051
113
Florida
#4
Here's the thing. When you open the message app there's a split screen with the person you message on the left and the conversation on the right. Hopefully I just haven't figured it out and someone can help but surely there's a way to not have a conversation constantly be in view on the right depending on who is highlighted on the left. It's not a huge deal which is what makes it utterly dumb if they designed it this way. I shouldn't have to delete every message simply to hide a conversation. It should automatically hide until I tap on the contact on the left and open it back up but as far as I can see there's no way around to not highlight a contact and have the conversation in full view. Thanks
Try turning the iPad around to portrait orientation.
You may have to back out of the convo, but this limits how much is shown on the screen at one time.
 

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#5
That doesn't make anything go away it just makes keyboard larger. Not sure why it was a hard concept to tap the person before the conversation shows. I shouldn't have to delete every message just to hide the conversation. Seems like it would be a common sense design feature, open message app, tap on contact left side, conversation pops up on right and I compose message. Then it goes away. Instead whoever was last highlighted on left has the entire conversation pop up when I open message app. Guess the squirt gun emoji was more important.

Mail app is same way, so stupid.
 
Last edited:

RoofMonkey

Genius
Gold
Jun 21, 2010
8,881
2,051
113
Florida
#7
I think it would be MUCH more inconvenient to have to constantly tap the persons name for a conversation to come back up. But that's just me.
 

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#9
I think it would be MUCH more inconvenient to have to constantly tap the persons name for a conversation to come back up. But that's just me.
If you message only one person I guess. If it popped up on new messages/mail that would be ok but then it should go away after you read it.
 

Ledsteplin

Genius
Gold
Oct 29, 2013
4,824
987
113
65
Florence, AL
#10
Why can't you just delete the text convo and leave the contact name in the list on the left?
 

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#11
Why can't you just delete the text convo and leave the contact name in the list on the left?
You can but it's an unnecessary hassle imo. Oh well seems like the option to hide should've been a no brainer.
 

Ledsteplin

Genius
Gold
Oct 29, 2013
4,824
987
113
65
Florence, AL
#12
You can but it's an unnecessary hassle imo. Oh well seems like the option to hide should've been a no brainer.
Apparently it only works with messages set to "forever". No hassle though. Just tap "Delete all" in the upper left after pressing a bubble and choosing "more". If messages are set on 30 days or 1 year, the contact disappears from the list.