iPhone 3G creating custom ringtones?

Jul 20, 2008
hey whats up guys, just purchased a iPhone 3g 16gb and looking for the most convenient way to make ringtones out of my mp3's? any help would be appreciated, im a noob.:laugh2:

P.S - ive tried iPhoneRingToneMaker, it sent the ringtone to my phone but it just vibrates when someone calls me instead of the ringtone. It was a trial version by the way.

iigreatoneii

Bronze
Jul 3, 2007
Orange County, CA
hey whats up guys, just purchased a iPhone 3g 16gb and looking for the most convenient way to make ringtones out of my mp3's? any help would be appreciated, im a noob.:laugh2:

P.S - ive tried iPhoneRingToneMaker, it sent the ringtone to my phone but it just vibrates when someone calls me instead of the ringtone. It was a trial version by the way.
Download Audacity. Pick the 30 seconds you want to use as your ringtone and save it as an MP3. Go to File > Add File to Library in iTunes. Select the MP3 you just added (It'll be in your Library) Right Click and select "Convert Selection To AAC" it will then add the same file right above or below it, delete your original file and then locate the same file you just changed to AAC. It should be filename.m4a and change it to filename.m4r and then go to Add File to Library in iTunes and it will now appear in your Ringtones tab. Make sure bothof the files are no longer listed in your library.

TAEWING59

Bronze
Jul 12, 2008
I use iRinger (www.iringer.net) it does everything for you, even imports them to iTunes for you!

FREE. Why?
Three Steps: Import, Preview then Export. Done.
Convert virtually any audio format into an iPhone ringtone
Extracts audio out of video
Choose which section of the audio you want to hear
Adjust ringtone length, volume, fade in, fade out and loop gap
Export to iPhone ringtone format and import right into iTunes

dturner

Zealot
Gold
Dec 15, 2007
Louisville, Ky.