iPhone 3G questions and concerns

gixxer18

Oct 5, 2008
I am new to the whole iPhone thing. I was wondering because someone had told me that if you jailbreak your iPhone that it voids your warranty and if AT&T finds out that they can disconnect your service. is this true or a bunch ob bull? cause I really want to Jailbreak it. please don't flame. this

Marcos

Bronze
Dec 19, 2007
Phoenix, AZ
No they wont be able to disconnect your service, but it will void the warranty. If you jailbreak it and you take back to Apple for repairs they wont touch it so its the risk you take with jailbreaking I had a jailbroken v1 and it was well worth the risk

gixxer18

Oct 5, 2008
No they wont be able to disconnect your service, but it will void the warranty. If you jailbreak it and you take back to Apple for repairs they wont touch it so its the risk you take with jailbreaking I had a jailbroken v1 and it was well worth the risk
what does the warranty cover? and couldnt you reset to factory settings before you took it in?

iPhone™

Bronze
Oct 4, 2008
Australia
I've heard people say that if you do jailbreak, And then restore the firmware to default (No jailbreak), Apple can't tell a thing.

Sounds logical.

Youngbinks

Zealot
Gold
Jun 4, 2007
Atlanta, Georgia
The warranty is going to cover hardware and software defects. If your screen starts to fail, you notice considerable software lags or the speaker stops working then you will be covered under warranty. It does NOT cover physical, user-caused damage. The Jailbreak does in fact void the warranty but if you restore to factory settings prior to visiting Apple then you should be in the clear.

gixxer18

Oct 5, 2008