iPhone 3G upgrade to latest

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

haripatn

Jan 7, 2012
Hi , I am a novice user and I have a iPhone which is unlocked and jailbroken , its iPhone 3G running 2.2 firm ware. I want to upgrade to latest IOS/firmware, so I can install latest apps/games on it. Can any one help me step by step, I am ready to pay for a tool if anything available. I bought it 2 yrs back unlocked on ebay , just used it for other carriers , but never have upgraded os .
Thanks in advance , Harry

Iloveiphones

Genius
Platinum
Aug 5, 2010
chatsocially.com
I can only advise you on this, the latest version for the 3G is 4.2.1 and that doesn't even allow you install the latest apps and games, my sisters is a 3GS running 4.3.5 and it doesn't allow you to install the latest.

Sources: my 2nd gen ipod touch is running 4.2.1, and that's the max, so I'm assuming that's the 3G too.

haripatn

Jan 7, 2012
THanks for reply , yeah I am okay to upgrade to 4.2.1 , I want to know the process to upgrade my 3G on 2.2 to 4.2.1 , Do you have the steps for this? (sorry I am not so techy)

Iloveiphones

Genius
Platinum
Aug 5, 2010
chatsocially.com
THanks for reply , yeah I am okay to upgrade to 4.2.1 , I want to know the process to upgrade my 3G on 2.2 to 4.2.1 , Do you have the steps for this? (sorry I am not so techy)
Just plug it into iTunes. Then it will ask to download and update. Do that.

WARNING: This may disrupt your unlock and jailbreak, I am not a whiz about this stuff. Another member will probably assist you further, I just provided the way to update.

haripatn

Jan 7, 2012
Thanks. Yeah true many places I read , using iTunes will lock the phone and un-jailbrk. So there got to be a procedure , can some one please let me know the procedure.

Jan 8, 2012