iPhone 3GS 5.1.1 the new baseband unlock advice

Discussion in 'iPhone Unlock' started by bikerboy, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. bikerboy

    bikerboy Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    Title summer it all , I am trying to Unlock an iPhone i bought for my younger sister it's 3gs 8 giga with the new stupid baseband .
    tried to update to update to iPad baseband but it keeps getting an error while fetching iPad baseband , so i am stuck , anyone had a successful go at this ? what am i doing wrong ? any advice ? thanks
     
  2. bikerboy

    bikerboy Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    Mouting rootfs as read only error is what i am getting , any solution to that ?
    Thanks
     
  3. fury

    fury Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Likes Received:
    238
    If it is a new generation 3GS, it has a new baseband chip which is incompatible with the one from the iPad. What are the first 5 digits of the serial number of the phone? (this will indicate the year and week of manufacture to know whether you can even install the iPad baseband on it)
     
  4. bikerboy

    bikerboy Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
  5. fury

    fury Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Likes Received:
    238
    OK, as far as I can tell, it should be safe to install the 6.15.00 on it (2011 week 4 -- apparently they didn't start putting the new chips in until week 28).

    I'm not sure what would cause that error, though. What program are you using to try to get the iPad baseband? Is it jailbroken already, or are you trying to jailbreak it at the same time?

    What baseband and firmware are on there currently?

    One suggestion I found on a brief Google search: Try just flashing the iPad baseband and doing nothing else
     
  6. bikerboy

    bikerboy Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    Already jail broken
     
  7. KAKershaw

    KAKershaw Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently bought an iPhone unlocked on T-mobile with a gevey sim card on 5.1.1.... Is there a way to get rid of the gevey unlock and then factory unlock the iPhone 4s for t-mobile? I am sick and tired of trying to get the sms and mms to work....
     
  8. bikerboy

    bikerboy Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    4
    CAll att , they are unlocking phones for people .
     

Share This Page