iPhone 3GS Upgrade?

Kameron

Sep 29, 2009
Hello, all!
I'm new to this "forum".
I have the Original, 2G iPhone, and was looking into upgrading to the 3GS.
I had the original iPhone since release day, and upgraded to the 3G recently, until it cracked, and It eventually stopped working, taking me back to the beloved Edge speed. My contract expires in 2010, but I am willing to upgrade to the 3GS for the full price. [$400] Can anyone tell me, as a user of the 3GS, reasons to upgrade? There wasn't that much of a difference when I went to the 3G, comparing it to my First Generation iPhone. Can you help me on my decision? Thank you! :eek:k:eek:k

Jan 16, 2009
Mississippi
I've had both the 3G and now the 3GS and there is tons of difference.
1) it's so much faster loading apps and web pages due to the faster processor, twice the ram, and better video handling
2) With twice the ram it's really hard to crash a program like on the 3G it was nothing for me to get the ram below 10 MB and then crash
3) Higher resolution camera
4) Video recording

I'm sure others will have more but let's just say my wife has my old 3G and whenever I load something for her or mess with it its slowness is painful!:eek:k:eek:k

KevJD

Bronze
Aug 30, 2008
Well, here ya go.....

-Faster processor. Apps install, load, and run much faster. Safari has been souped up and pages load quite a bit faster. The overall experience with the phone is much snappier...

-Double the system memory. This is a BLESSING! No more app crashing. You don't have to reset the phone daily to free up extra memory. Apps perform much better...

-Much better camera optics/higher megapixels with autofocus capability...

-Video recording...

-Compass...

-Longer battery life, for most people anyhow... :sneaky:

-Louder speaker volume...

-Smudge resistant coating on the screen...

jsntrenkler

Zealot
Silver
Sep 22, 2008
Tucson Arizona