iPhone 4s camera focus issue

Discussion in 'iPhone 4S' started by jtsarby, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. jtsarby

    jtsarby Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is anyone else having problems with their camera focusing? My camera cannot seem to stay focused. I did not have this problem on my 4.
     
  2. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Do a hard reboot by press and hold the power button and home button simultaneously until you see the Apple logo.
     
  3. jtsarby

    jtsarby Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I did not think of that. I will try and see what happens.
     
  4. jtsarby

    jtsarby Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a hard reset and it is still messed up. I compared it to my iPhone 4 and the 4 locks in quick. The 4s continues to refocus over and over. Very frustrating. Does anyone else notice this?
     
  5. dturner

    dturner Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    Sound like a hardware problem. Sorry, sounds like a trip to Apple is in order.


    Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
     
  6. imutter

    imutter Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Likes Received:
    743
    yeh sorry sounds like Apple store
     
  7. jtsarby

    jtsarby Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. theorioles33

    theorioles33 Evangelist
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Likes Received:
    136
  9. dturner

    dturner Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    Can't speak for the 4s, don't have it (yet). But don't have this problem on the 4.
    You shouldn't have to lock for every pic.


    Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
     
  10. jtsarby

    jtsarby Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 4 does not do it.
     
  11. RoofMonkey

    RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,032
    Could there be something covering the lens, case glass, protective film etc...? Mine doesn't autofocus as many times as yours. I assume this happens all the time?
    Tapping and holding does lock the focus and white balance. Nice if you want to stay on a particular area waiting to get the shot.


    Sent from my iPhone4s using iCafe app
     
  12. dorrien12

    dorrien12 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    3
    I took pictures inside and in great lighting they came out ok. But of people they was dark. How can they think this will replace a camera, who takes all their pictures outside? Am I doing the wrong settings?
     
  13. Trance56k

    Trance56k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    2
    My 4s does not do that. I have had no problems with my camera.
     
  14. billnye97

    billnye97 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Likes Received:
    75
    Neither have I.
     
  15. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Yes. You're doing it wrong. lol j/k

    The settings are very basic in the options menu. Good technique will go a long way.
     
  16. dorrien12

    dorrien12 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    3

    Any suggestions besides making sure they are in a well lit area?
     
  17. RoofMonkey

    RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,032
    don't be afraid to turn the flash on, not just Auto but so it will fire regardless of the lighting. It will act as a fill flash. Can you post an example of the dark photo.
     
  18. dorrien12

    dorrien12 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    3
    I turned flash on but when I do it's worse. I took picture of my dining area in low light with flash off and you could see, but it could be lighter.



    Then when I turn it to auto and take the same picture, it uses the flash and comes out like below.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. jtsarby

    jtsarby Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Back on topic. I posted a clip on YouTube showing the focus issue. Someone else said they took their phone to Apple and got it replaced. Anyone here done that?
     
  20. chazm

    chazm Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Likes Received:
    40
    If you have a case on, take it off and try with flash on again
     
Similar Threads
  1. Jay5017
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    876
  2. Vonwachtstain
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    2,645
  3. Sean Healey
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    1,910
  4. rugved1118
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    331
Loading...

Share This Page