iPhone 4S - Verizon, SprinT, AT&T...

Discussion in 'iPhone 4S' started by AeroCare, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    So I have a Verizon 4S. Looking for a reason to either sell it or keep it. It's hard to figure out because it's the first Apple CDMA/GSM model so it's a mystery.

    Help me out :

    Since the phone 4S is the same basically for all three carriers, after jailbreak will I be able to use it on Sprint also? I know people flash their Android phones from one carrier to the other but I figure they're flashing ESN which I don't need to do, my 4S is paid off and legal.

    Is there a technical reason or is it a carrier policy deal?
     
  2. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    BTW I was going to post the same question on the Android forum requesting info on anyone who has done it with their Android phones but I noticed that many of the people here also have Android phones and also post over there so maybe one of those could help here?
     
  3. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    you cannot use a verizon iPhone on sprint not even a JB iPhone will work. but you might be able to use a JB iPhone from sprint on cricket cause they use the same technology.
     
  4. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    If it's about the same technology then I would be able to do it. All three, Verizon and Sprint and Cricket, are CDMA carriers.
     
  5. owieh

    owieh Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Likes Received:
    60
    Why not ask them to unlock it?
     
  6. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    It's not locked.
     
  7. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    The CDMA carriers will not port over ESNs from outside of their network. If you had a friend on the inside, technically he could drop it into their network as a new device from Apple. He'd lose his job the minute it was discovered though.

    End result, the device will only work on it's carrier of origin or potentially on international GSM networks.

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  8. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,443
    I don't think it will work. It's locked to Verizon and unlike T-Mobile, Sprint doesn't use a SIM card (which allows people to switch phones by switching the card). So even if the hackers did make a CDMA unlock, you won't be able to just pop a Sprint SIM card into it to get it working on that carrier. I think you'd have to take it into Sprint to have it switched over to their network and even if they could do it, they wouldn't be allowed to do it since they could tell that it is a Verizon-locked phone.

    Not saying it's not possible; I just don't see it happening anytime soon. We don't even have a GSM unlock for the AT&T iPhone yet, and that's far easier by comparison.
     
  9. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,443
    If it's a Verizon iPhone, it's carrier-locked to Verizon. Getting it working on a GSM network (with an 02 SIM, for example, would be much easier). I'm not talking about roaming on O2 with the SIM that's already in the phone (which is how it's designed to work stock), I'm talking about an actual O2 prepaid SIM so you don't have to pay Verizon roaming charges when you get home.
     
  10. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    I know how sim cards on GSM carriers work, thanks. It's not locked to Verizon, I can use all my international sims fine in it.

    I suppose then that's why Android phones have to be flashed. Thanks for the answers.
     
  11. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    Flashed? All CDMA phones are locked to their carrier of origin regardless of OS.

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  12. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    I don't understand. Are you trying to say something different from what I said and you quoted or are you just repeating the same thing?
     
  13. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    I don't understand this statement. Flashed in what way?

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  14. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    Let's start from the beginning, what do you understand by flashed?
     
  15. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,443
    But as far as the CDMA chip goes, it is locked to Verizon. It won't work with any other CDMA carriers. I did hear that Verizon and/or Sprint might unlock the GSM chip so you can use international GSM SIMs. AT&T won't do that. Did Verizon unlock it for you so it would work with those international GSM SIMs?
     
  16. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yep, that's why I said previously that it's unlocked. That's the only thing they can unlock, the GSM Sim tray for use with international carriers.
     
  17. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    Some kind of software/firmware update/change.

    So CDMA Android phones can be flashed to work on a competitors CDMA network?

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  18. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yes they can. Now I understand why you posted what you posted previously.
     
  19. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    Wow. Ok, my statements about CDMA only apply to Canada when we had CDMA carriers. Thought the policies were North American standards.

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  20. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    No problem.
     

Share This Page