iPhone 6 to iPhone 6+

Discussion in 'iPhone 6' started by flightmedic, Nov 8, 2014.

  1. flightmedic

    flightmedic Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    21
    I am selling my iPhone six and getting a 6+. Can I apply my iPhone six back up to the 6+?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ivantwilliams

    ivantwilliams Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Likes Received:
    219
    My opinion would be to restore as new, and then start a fresh. You typically don't have issues then :)
     
  3. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Yes, you can restore your iPhone 6 backup on an iPhone 6+.
     
  4. Paul_01

    Paul_01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it's exactly what I did.

    I've never had any issues doing this over the years, but some people report issues, hence the reference to starting afresh above.
     
  5. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    Yep, that is perfectly fine.

    I don't like using backups from older generations of phones that were running old firmware on a new device with newer firmware, but going from a 6 on 8.1 to a 6+ on 8.1 isn't likely to cause any problems.
     
  6. liberated

    liberated Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    467
    I've been restoring from a backup and backup while jailbroken since the 4s, never had any problems
     
  7. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    Most people don't experience problems. It's just that you can minimize the risk of problems by setting up new devices from scratch. There is a higher risk when the backup was made on an old device with old jailbroken firmware than when you go from stock 8.1 to 8.1, for example. The risk may not be large, but I like to do everything I can to avoid potential problems. That means setting up my new hardware from scratch. Besides, I like to start fresh once a year. I don't want my old texts, etc. on my brand new phones. I restore from backup throughout the year as needed. If I got a replacement of the same phone, I'd use my backup, too.
     
  8. liberated

    liberated Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    467
    Makes sense. I just don't have time to set the many settings, etc. I've been meaning to start fresh since the 4s!
     
  9. billnye97

    billnye97 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Likes Received:
    75
    I don't have the patience to set it up as new every year. I've had no issues backing up my iPhones since the original. I literally have all of my texts since June 29th, 2007. For whatever reason I have a sense of pride with that. :)
     
  10. Njshoremom4gurlz

    Njshoremom4gurlz Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    84
    I set it as new,when I switched because of battery complaints & I'm back to normal!
     

Share This Page