iPhone Audio Died

tomasw

Aug 2, 2007
Just an FYI, have had my iPhone only about a month and the audio died today, I could use my headset and get audio, I could use the bluetooth and get audio and the speakerphone worked however. I could not hear through the iPhone speaker in normal phone mode. YouTube videos and music would not play through it, I tried a soft reset, a hard reset and then a full restore, nothing helped. Called Apple support and they sent me to the store to send it back "to be fixed"-- I asked the techie at the store about it and he would only say it was not the first one with this problem. So, they were out of loaners so I am using an old unlocked Razr I keep for when I am out of the country until they get me my iPhone back. How many loaners do they have I wonder to have them all out? Is this a bad sign of things to come.

Let me say I was not happy with the Customer service experience overall. I have been using Apple products since 1976 (Apple II-still have it and it still works)--the attitude of Customer service on this matter was pretty much "sucks to be you"--when I pay $600 for a phone, I expect it to work! Just having a B**** at this point, they have promised me a repair / replacement in 3 days--however I am SOL on my Invisible Shield. So, thats $35 I have flushed and Apple just shrugs off my loss. I am glad to see Apple regaining market share but the customer service experience needs some work!

Anyone else have this problem with their iPhone audio dying?

GeoBau

Jul 14, 2007
Some people will notice that after plugging in a headset and then removing it, the standard audio speaker doesn't work for phone calls/ipod. It WILL work, however, on speakerphone.

The solution is simple: Plug in and remove the headset into the jack 2-3 times, and the audio comes back. I don't know why it does it, but take it for what it is.

G

tomasw

Aug 2, 2007