iPhone Camera Lens AR Coating

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

GADeputy

Bronze
Jan 21, 2008
Georgia, USA
Before I get to my topic I wanted to say hello to everyone. I've been coming here for a few months now but just now decided to register. Great bunch of people here and a LOT of useful information.
Now, on to my topic.... (sorry this is so long)

When I got my iPhone for Christmas it used to take pretty good pictures (as good as a 2mb camera can anyway), but after about 2 weeks I noticed that my pictures had a hazy look to them and weren't as clear as they used to be.
I checked out the cameras lens and noticed that it looked like it had an oily film all over it. I gently cleaned it with a soft cloth but that didn't seem to work. I ended up just leaving it and figured that since it's only a 2mb camera I couldn't expect much better.
Since then I've seen tons of pictures on the web taken with other peoples iPhones and couldn't believe how clear they were. My pictures were never as clear and nice as the ones that I was seeing.
Today I decided that there had to be something that I could do to improve my cameras pictures. I used a magnifying glass and looked closely at my iPhones lens. What I saw wasn't an oily film like I had previously thought but it was the AR coating chipping off the lens. Why this was happening I don't know since I'm one of those people who babies my phone.
I spent hours and hours today searching the web for a way to fix this problem but there doesn't seem to be anything out there short of sending the phone back to Apple and hope for a replacement (which I don't want to do).
I finally decided that I would try to totally remove the AR coating and see what that would do. After all, it couldn't make it any worse than it was already.