iPhone FUD from WSJ

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

spacerog

Bronze
Jun 11, 2007
www.spacerogue.net
http://online.wsj.com/public/articl...ltMOekyUh8_20070718.html?mod=tff_main_tff_top

I am not going to quote the whole article but it is full of FUD about businessses and the iPhone. Evidently IT Managers are pushing back against employees who want to use the iPhone on corporate networks because it is "incompatible" and "insecure". What a load of horse manure. I am an IT Manager and would much rather have iPhone on my network that I can control via IMAP than some bugggy, security hole ridden piece of crap that is Blackberry Enterprise Server. Yuck!

"Mr. Caraher, technology director of von Briesen & Roper, a Milwaukee law firm,... The main problem is that the iPhone can't send and receive email through the company's corporate BlackBerry email servers. He says he is unwilling to look into workarounds, because they might compromise the company's security. "It's another hole in the system people can exploit," he says."

This guy is an idiot. He has the biggest security hole already on his network in BES and obviously doesn't even know it. And he thinks adding a simple IMAP client is goign to make things worse? Obviously this guy does not understand security at all.

While iPhones can be used for email, for now, many businessses don't plan to sync them with internal email systems that use technology from BlackBerry maker Research In Motion Ltd., Microsoft Corp. and Good Technology, owned by Motorola Inc.

Duh! It is IMAP you idiots not some proprietary, unsecure, MS or RIM crap.

According to a person close to Apple, the company is expected to fight for this market

Wrong again. Where has Apple ever mentioned anything about 'fighting' for the businesss market. never. Hell, they won't even sell the iPhone to businessses at first! How the hell is that 'fighting for this market'. More FUD.