iPhone is disabled- connect to iTunes

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Astribling, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. Astribling

    Astribling Member
    Bronze

    Jun 22, 2010
    0
    We have an iPhone 4 and my husband's friend decided to turn the passcode lock on. Well when he tried to enter a code too many times it now says "iPhone disabled - connect to iTunes" . Is there any way to get back in without doing a restore? And if I do a restore will I lose all info, or will it back up?
    I have tried to doing some searching but I'm finding conflicting answers.

    Thanks for your info!
     
  2. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Dec 12, 2008
    4,427
    Put it in Recovery Mode and restore on the same computer it is synced with. It will ask for the password if you attempt to restore on a different computer. The backup is still on the computer. You can use it when you restore.
     
  3. Sponsored Advertisement

  4. Astribling

    Astribling Member
    Bronze

    Jun 22, 2010
    0
    Thanks! So far so good. At least it did let me sync so I could back up all his data. Now I'm waiting for 4.3.3 to download since we had not yet updated. This is taking a while on a slow connection, and I got about 80% downloaded once and it stopped and gave an error. grr. I really wish updates would start up downloading where they left off!

    Anyway thanks for the help!
     
  5. John Cage

    John Cage New Member

    Jul 4, 2011
    0
    Hi Europa,

    In our case, it was my daughter's 'friends' trying to break her password on her temporarily unattended phone. There is no way to resolve this short of a full restore? She's worried about losing pictures, her address book, etc. One might think that the Apple folks would have left some option open for those who have a password to defeat this lockdown.
     
  6. John Cage

    John Cage New Member

    Jul 4, 2011
    0
    On a similar note, the computer our daughters synced their iPhones with is the only iTunes computer in the home. Should I install iTunes on another computer where when I put it into recovery mode, it will backup only what is on her iPhone? I'm not even "positive" that my daughter's phone has been synced with iTunes (we're pretty new to iPhones). We do have the password though so... TIA
     
  7. John Cage

    John Cage New Member

    Jul 4, 2011
    0
  8. John Cage

    John Cage New Member

    Jul 4, 2011
    0
    My daughter went on an overnighter with 'friends' where someone was trying to break her password on her temporarily unattended phone. One might think (or in my case hope) that there should be an option for those of us WHO KNOW the users password to login to iTunes (or whatever) and defeat this locked down phone without having to take it in for service, having to do a full restore, etc.
    I've read some posts elsewhere on 'jailbreaking' but would prefer to stay on this side of the tracks for now. If I end up seeing this phone restored though with all the loss of data, I'll be looking at the jailbreaking option the next time. Another point I'd like to make and this one is out of frustration. NOT EVERYONE looking for a solution on this topic is a thief and I spent considerable time today looking online for help only to see many others looking for help branded as thieves. Granted, for those who didn't know a password and looking for help, it's understandable somewhat but... Some of us KNOW THE PASSWORD and just need the backdoor in to get an opportunity to get that password entered.
    All we can get currently is an ability to make make emergency calls - though text messages for my daughter have come in. Just no opportunity to put in the user password.
    Seems to be a pretty common thread where people looking for answers is concerned. I'd like to know too, if we end up having to do a restore, is there an opportunity with a fresh install of iTunes on a computer to do a backup prior to this 'restore' where that backed up data can be synced into the phone again. Again, we do have a legit user password, just trying to get an opportunity to use it to get past this "iPhone is disabled connect to iTunes" lockdown of the phone.
    Thanks very much for any assistance,
    John​
     
    #7 John Cage, Jul 4, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 22, 2014
  9. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Jun 19, 2007
    3,636
  10. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Dec 12, 2008
    4,427
    John, it's set up this way to protect the user's data. The fix is simple; just connect the device to the computer it is synced with. She synced it at least once (when she activiated it). Once connected, it will ask for the password and unlock it. It shouldn't need to be restored and no data will be lost.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1212

    Syncing it regularly is recommended because it will back up her contacts, media and settings, which will be very useful if she ever needs to restore it. You can not create an iTunes backup on a phone that must be restored. Backups need to be made prior to getting to that point.
     
  11. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Dec 12, 2008
    4,427
    I just answered your questions in the thread that Napoleon linked.
     
  12. RoofMonkey

    RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

    Jun 21, 2010
    1,726
    They probably can't find it since the OP has posted in Original , iPhone 3G and iPhone 4 threads... They missed the 3GS forum though.
    Lol
    Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
     
  13. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Dec 12, 2008
    4,427
    John, I answered your question here. Please only ask questions in one place. Starting more than one thread or asking the same questions in multiple threads causes confusion and needless replies when the question has already been answered. I deleted a couple of your duplicate posts.
     
  14. John Cage

    John Cage New Member

    Jul 4, 2011
    0
    Thanks very much for the response. One thing about iTunes. Do you happen to know if you can have multiple accounts on the same iTunes program. I'm guessing you can but it didn't seem very intuitive where adding another account was concerned.
     
  15. iByron

    iByron Member
    Bronze

    Jan 17, 2011
    13
    I don't think so, I just made my wife another Windows account and she syncs that way but to my knowledge you can't
     
  16. John Cage

    John Cage New Member

    Jul 4, 2011
    0
    This whole having to restore when someone locks up your phone is a joke and Apple should take steps to build a better system. "friends" of my daughter tried to crack her password when they got a hold of her phone and ended up locking the phone up where it wouldn't even sync with iTunes. There should be some keyed sequence just with the phone itself where the actual owner who knows the password can take control of their phone back with that known-to-user password. I've heard the "you only hafta" this and that advice and in the end, it's a tremendous amount of needless work where data is lost needlessly. All because Apple could but apparently won't, build this into their system. I don't know if another option exists so I'll throw it out here - an "administrator" password. Knowing what I know now about the iPhone, I'm going to advocate that my daughter NOT password protect her phone again. Because if she does and this history repeats itself, we're down a phone again. If she does not password her phone, the possibility is there that someone can add a password if they get a hold of her phone and that would be where the admin password would come into play - they cannot add a password unless they know the admin password to approve the phone change. Apple store in Spokane proved to be less than helpful by the way. Apparently even the experts can't save a phone from 'restore' when someone has attempted to crack a password enough times where they locked up the phone. My kids thought they liked iPhones. Seems that we've had a rash of problems lately with them (with this particular post being the worst example). Speaking for myself, I'll stay with my non-iphone for a while.
     
  17. Parry

    Parry New Member

    May 16, 2010
    1
    Hi,

    Yesterday one of my friend brought iPhone 4 locked to some UK carrier.

    Before I could sit to unlock & JB the device, someone in the house played around with the pass code & now the iPhone has been disabled.

    On switching on I get the message "iPhone is disabled. Connect to iTunes."

    Connecting it to iTunes get this message;

    "iTunes could not connect to the iPhone because it is locked by a password. You must enter the password on the iPhone before it can be used with iTunes."

    I know the pass code, is there any way I can get the pass code login back.

    I do not have access to the PC/ iTunes synced last with this device.

    Pls advice.
     
  18. Rugaby

    Rugaby Genius
    Gold

    Feb 18, 2011
    1,219
    Does it give you a message on the phone to wait x amount of days and try again?
     
  19. Parry

    Parry New Member

    May 16, 2010
    1
    Thanks Rugaby for replying. No such message is seen; straight away getting 'iPhone is disabled'.
     
  20. stil29

    stil29 Member
    Bronze

    Jul 28, 2008
    1
    If you cannot remember the passcode, you will need to restore your device on the computer that was used to originally sync the iPhone or iPod touch so that you can reset your passcode and resync the data from the device (or restore from a backup). If you restore on a different computer that was never synced to the iPhone or iPod touch, you will be able to unlock the device for use and remove the passcode but your data will not be present. Refer to 'Updating and restoring iPhone and iPod touch software.'"

    From googling it!
     
  21. Parry

    Parry New Member

    May 16, 2010
    1
    Thanks stil29 for replying. Data is not much of concern as it already in the last synced PC.

    I tried connecting the device to another PC to which it was never synced with but was unable to Unlock.

    Can you pls assist how to do the same?

    Also, another query :
    I have a 3GS which I was using prior to 4S. That device was synced to my laptop. Now have passed on 3GS to my father. After resetting it, have been syncing it with his laptop. In such a case, will it still work with my laptop after now being synced with another laptop.
     

Share This Page