iPhone Signal meanings

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Chad Coelen, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. Chad Coelen

    Chad Coelen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm with Fido and I have an unlimited package deal, incoming/outgoing, texting, long distance, 6gigs of data... ect...So what does the "E" and "o" mean? And do I get charged for these signals rather than being on 3G network?
     
    #1 Chad Coelen, Dec 15, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
  2. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    E stands for EDGE radio technology. Very slow. You only get surcharged for roaming and data overages. How much you paying for Fido, I'm on Rogers.

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  3. Chad Coelen

    Chad Coelen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's about $90/mo unlimited everything
     
  4. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    Ouch!

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  5. Chad Coelen

    Chad Coelen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Compared to what telus and solo use to charge me it's half the cost.
     
  6. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    I'm not a big minutes or LD user so don't need unlimited. My plan is quite good for my needs. The only way to beat it would be to quote a government employee number.

    250 minutes.
    6pm evening and weekend
    unlimited MMS/SMS
    CID, VM, CW, CF
    6 GB
    15¢/min overage
    I use a calling service attached to the landline for 2¢/min North American LD

    $52 before taxes.

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  7. Chad Coelen

    Chad Coelen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm huge on talk and phone always rings lol busy busy...
    Unlimited day/evening/wknds
    Long distance
    Unlimited texting in/out
    Unlimited pics through text
    100 pics to like Facebook/mo
    6gigs of data
    CID/CD/CF/CW/3way calling
    Flat $90/mo never over
     
  8. Chad Coelen

    Chad Coelen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so what does the "o" mean and how do you know when your phone is on Roam?
     
  9. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    I get an R. O I'm not familiar with.
     
  10. Jmbaker429

    Jmbaker429 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Likes Received:
    146
    I've gotten that before also. I think it means you don't have any data available. I think it goes o,E,3G
     
  11. Jmbaker429

    Jmbaker429 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Likes Received:
    146
    When I have good service I have 3G then it will drop to edge when I'm getting away from towers and then when I'm out of range of about everything it will show the "o"
     
  12. impaler

    impaler Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you're showing an "O", you DO have data. Barely.

    The "O" on GSM phones refers to GPRS (General Packet Radio Service), old technology, which is true 2G data...it's even slower than EDGE. EDGE is really more like 2.5G, whereas HSPA/UMTS is 3G. You're not roaming on GPRS, you're on an AT&T or partner tower, and won't be assessed any fees, at least in the US. And with both EDGE and GPRS, you cannot do data and voice at the same time.

    There's no roaming indicator on AT&T iPhones...only if the carrier name changes will you know if you're roaming on voice and data. It's never an issue unless you leave the US, though. You can force the phone to not roam on data outside the US, so you don't get charged an extreme amount of money for little data. When I've been overseas, I've purchased a small (50MB) data international roaming package to ensure I don't pull data at outrageous rates, then I turn it off when I'm back in the US. It's prorated only for the time I used it as well.

    The CDMA iPhones also show a "O", but in this case, it means 1XRTT, which is CDMA data's version of EDGE/GPRS. With both 1X and EV-DO, though, you can't do voice and data at the same time, unlike with UMTS on GSM networks. That's why the Sprint and Verizon iPhones can only do data and voice at the same time if you're connected to WiFi.
     
  13. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    He's on the Fido/Rogers network in Canada. I've seen an R for roaming on my phone. Didn't know the iPhone doesn't do this.

    ;)

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  14. impaler

    impaler Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you had, say, a US-based iPhone, it would say ROGERS, vice AT&T, when you're in Canada. Thererfore, you'd know you weren't on your home network and would be assessed insane charges for pulling any data off ROGERS' network, unless you were on an international plan.
     
  15. Chad Coelen

    Chad Coelen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info.. Really helpful and totally appreciate it!
     

Share This Page