iPhone speaker hack! 40% louder!

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

psylichon

Genius
Oct 31, 2007
Philly
Well, I tried it a while ago, it didn't hurt my phone, and it is indeed louder. I'm an audio engineer and deal with small degrees of volume change every day. This is no small change... even my wife noticed without prompting.

Others on the board have shared the same sentiments... it's a fairly well-received hack. Search for it.

steviep831

Bronze
Jan 15, 2008
Well, I tried it a while ago, it didn't hurt my phone, and it is indeed louder. I'm an audio engineer and deal with small degrees of volume change every day. This is no small change... even my wife noticed without prompting.

Others on the board have shared the same sentiments... it's a fairly well-received hack. Search for it.
Second. It definitely improved the sound level on my phone. And as mentioned above, no real chance of damaging the speaker, but I wouldn't go deep-sea fishing with the pin...

doron

Zealot
Gold
Apr 17, 2007
tampa, FL

well, since you are a sound engineer, i may take your word for it...never doubt a word from a sound engineer...at least the ones that know what their talkn about...so does it improve the volume of the person you're talkn to as well...

doron

Zealot
Gold
Apr 17, 2007
tampa, FL
Interesting, so how do you know when you have done it correctly? How hard should you push the needle in? Thanks :)

well according to the video it seems that its a slight poke...i MIGHT do it...if i do it, i'll use a tack to have more poke control...although a tack might be too big...

Ag-Ryan

Bronze
Jul 25, 2007
i did it and i didn't really notice much [if any] difference, but hey, it definitely didn't hurt things at all....

adseguy

Bronze
Jul 1, 2007
there is a membrane between the black plastic outer shell and the internals (including the speaker) This protecs from dust and other contaminantes from getting in.