iPhone virus

shearwave

New Member
Jul 12, 2013
1
0
1
#1
This just started today. I am in china. When I go to safari and open a new page I get an error message from google stating that my phone is trying to upas to google and will not let me get to my requested page. Google has a link to possible causes I went there and it sounds like I now have a virus in my iPhone. How can I get rid of it?! I checked the AppStore and didn't see any iPhone virus detectors?! B


Sent using iCafe app
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#2
This is definitely not a virus. There are no iPhone viruses and no security software is necessary on iPhones. It's likely that the problem you are experiencing has to do with Internet restrictions in China. Are you using cellular or WiFi? Do you experience the same problem on other networks?
 

rom x

Zealot
Gold
Jan 18, 2011
1,043
99
48
#3
Technically, yes, but is it likely? No.
iPhones are currently at a very, very low risk for viruses. There are very few iPhone viruses out there, and the ones that are running around, are only likely to affect Jailbroken iPhones.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#4
Technically, yes, but is it likely? No.
iPhones are currently at a very, very low risk for viruses. There are very few iPhone viruses out there, and the ones that are running around, are only likely to affect Jailbroken iPhones.
There is a potential security problem if someone jailbreaks and installs OpenSSH but fails to change the default SSH password. That's like leaving your front door wide open at night. Any computer or smartphone would be vulnerable in that position. There was a worm or something that affected some jailbroken users in Australia a few years ago who hadn't changed their SSH password. IIRC, their phones were locked and they got Rickrolled on the lock screen. However, there are no known iPhone viruses and no security software is necessary - jailbroken or not. Just change that default jailbreak SSH password if you use it.
 

iP5

Evangelist
Gold
Sep 7, 2010
2,964
136
63
Toronto
#5
Last edited by a moderator:
Jun 19, 2007
33,493
4,550
113
Upper Marlboro, MD
#6
Here's a report of researchers managing to get Apple to approve and release a malware app to the App Store.

http://gigaom.com/2013/08/17/researchers-show-how-to-slip-malware-into-apples-app-store/

I guess the one thing about iOS's hobbled multitasking, limited inter-app integration and refusal of replacement default apps is that something like a key stroke logger is still quite difficult as compared to other platforms.
Yeah. Pretty cool, isn't it? But at least it gave you a chance to rag on your favorite phone some more.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#7
Here's a report of researchers managing to get Apple to approve and release a malware app to the App Store.

http://gigaom.com/2013/08/17/researchers-show-how-to-slip-malware-into-apples-app-store/

I guess the one thing about iOS's hobbled multitasking, limited inter-app integration and refusal of replacement default apps is that something like a key stroke logger is still quite difficult as compared to other platforms.
Disappointing, but it was just a proof of concept and not a real malicious app. The bottom line is the App Store and iOS are still hundreds of times more secure than Android and no antivirus software is necessary at this time.

Hobbled mulitasking? It does exactly what I need it to do, and the battery life is great as a result of the way it works. You can pull up the list on Android and see apps that you haven't used in weeks still running in the background, needlessly using resources. No thanks.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

iP5

Evangelist
Gold
Sep 7, 2010
2,964
136
63
Toronto
#8
You can pull up the list on Android and see apps that you haven't used in weeks still running in the background, needlessly using resources. No thanks.
Do wish that base Android had a quick kill all function, though I guess a daily reboot would prevent running apps for weeks. Fortunately a kill all function in notifications is quite common on most ROMs.

A similar peeve for me on my stock iPod is that the tasks listed under the tray survive a hard reboot. What's with that. Although it's altogether possible that I'm doing the hard boot incorrectly. You reboot daily right? Or is that only when you're JB?
 

iP5

Evangelist
Gold
Sep 7, 2010
2,964
136
63
Toronto
#9
Yeah. Pretty cool, isn't it? But at least it gave you a chance to rag on your favorite phone some more.
Rag on my favorite phone?

I've no issues admitting that the potential of a key logger catching my bank account and password is a concern for me. On the other hand it's not like I look for every opp to post such material.

---

Really though, I thought I was at least trying to be even handed about my post.

It's not like I have a quick stock list of why I couldn't live on iOS.

Anyway, iOS is often pitched as near risk-less as far as malware goes. Sure there's that stuff about location tracking. To me, that was pretty minor league. This report though I thought would be a service to this community as risk is often relegated to the JB'ers.

In any case I wasn't trying to draw people to any other platform. Again see my admission about bigger vulnerabilities elsewhere.

Sent from my Nexus 4
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#10
Do wish that base Android had a quick kill all function, though I guess a daily reboot would prevent running apps for weeks. Fortunately a kill all function in notifications is quite common on most ROMs.

A similar peeve for me on my stock iPod is that the tasks listed under the tray survive a hard reboot. What's with that. Although it's altogether possible that I'm doing the hard boot incorrectly. You reboot daily right? Or is that only when you're JB?
The apps keep running even after a reboot on Android. They don't continue to run on iOS after reboots. They just stay in the task switcher for quick task switching. If it's beyond the first page of the task switcher, I just launch them from the springboard.
 
Jun 19, 2007
33,493
4,550
113
Upper Marlboro, MD
#11
The apps keep running even after a reboot on Android. They don't continue to run on iOS after reboots. They just stay in the task switcher for quick task switching. If it's beyond the first page of the task switcher, I just launch them from the springboard.
This drives me crazy on my HTC One. I'd like to be in control of what apps I have running. I don't like apps that I haven't run for months starting up without my opening them. This has happened with every Android phone I've owned.
 

iP5

Evangelist
Gold
Sep 7, 2010
2,964
136
63
Toronto
#12
The apps keep running even after a reboot on Android.
Absolute misinformation obviously based on the one Android unit you're routinely exposed to. More details to follow in reply to Naps posting. Suffice to say though that Android apps do not survive reboots normally.
 

iP5

Evangelist
Gold
Sep 7, 2010
2,964
136
63
Toronto
#13
This drives me crazy on my HTC One. I'd like to be in control of what apps I have running. I don't like apps that I haven't run for months starting up without my opening them. This has happened with every Android phone I've owned.
My first thought was you're bonkers. Fortunately my wife has the HTC One.

Settings | Power | Disable Fast Restart

I think its HTC copying the Windows hibernate function. Agreed it is more useful if you power off your phone.

And for the record this has not happened across any of the multitude of Android phones I've owned. Base Android kills all apps on reboots and unlike the iOS task switcher, makes it clear that they've been killed.
 
Jun 19, 2007
33,493
4,550
113
Upper Marlboro, MD
#14
Absolute misinformation obviously based on the one Android unit you're routinely exposed to. More details to follow in reply to Naps posting. Suffice to say though that Android apps do not survive reboots normally.
That's total bullcrap. I rebooted yesterday and apps I haven't run for ages are showing up in my "running apps" list with an option to shut them down.. This is on a "flagship" phone, mind you, and has occurred on all Android phones I've ever used. Don't try to play the "Absolute misinformation obviously based on the one Android unit" card with me, because I'm not buying it. I'm sure that's why app killers and wakelock detectors are so popular on Google Play.
 
Jun 19, 2007
33,493
4,550
113
Upper Marlboro, MD
#15
My first thought was you're bonkers. Fortunately my wife has the HTC One.

Settings | Power | Disable Fast Restart

I think its HTC copying the Windows hibernate function. Agreed it is more useful if you power off your phone.

And for the record this has not happened across any of the multitude of Android phones I've owned. Base Android kills all apps on reboots and unlike the iOS task switcher, makes it clear that they've been killed.
Bull. This behavior has occurred on my Droid Incredible, my EVO, my S3 and now my One. It's not brand- or model-specific. If you don't want to admit there's a problem, that's fine, but don't tr to convince me otherwise as I've seen the identical problem in multiple phones.
 

iP5

Evangelist
Gold
Sep 7, 2010
2,964
136
63
Toronto
#16
That's total bullcrap. I rebooted yesterday and apps I haven't run for ages are showing up in my "running apps" list with an option to shut them down.. This is on a "flagship" phone, mind you, and has occurred on all Android phones I've ever used. Don't try to play the "Absolute misinformation obviously based on the one Android unit" card with me, because I'm not buying it. I'm sure that's why app killers and wakelock detectors are so popular on Google Play.
Have you read the following reply to you? I checked the HTC One before replying. Its stock. I had a dozen+ apps running. Then I restarted the phone, brought up the tasks and it was empty. Same with a reboot on my N4 and all my past phones.

Did you try checking your settings?
 
Jun 19, 2007
33,493
4,550
113
Upper Marlboro, MD
#17
Have you read the following reply to you? I checked the HTC One before replying. Its stock. I had a dozen+ apps running. Then I restarted the phone, brought up the tasks and it was empty. Same with a reboot on my N4 and all my past phones.

Did you try checking your settings?
Yes, but within a few hours or a couple of days the apps creep back. Period.
 

iP5

Evangelist
Gold
Sep 7, 2010
2,964
136
63
Toronto
#18
Bull. This behavior has occurred on my Droid Incredible, my EVO, my S3 and now my One. It's not brand- or model-specific. If you don't want to admit there's a problem, that's fine, but don't tr to convince me otherwise as I've seen the identical problem in multiple phones.
Hmmmm. OK, now that I think of it, I've not run a stock Android for much longer than a week since the G1. CM is my general go to. But I did test the HTC One before replying and with the Fast Restart disabled, there no apps surviving reboot.
 
Jun 19, 2007
33,493
4,550
113
Upper Marlboro, MD
#19
Hmmmm. OK, now that I think of it, I've not run a stock Android for much longer than a week since the G1. CM is my general go to. But I did test the HTC One before replying and with the Fast Restart disabled, there no apps surviving reboot.
Let's just agree to disagree. I know what I'm seeing in front of my eyes, and I know what I've seen in my previous Android phones. It doesn't make them bad phones, but I don't appreciate not having control over this part of the UI.
 

iP5

Evangelist
Gold
Sep 7, 2010
2,964
136
63
Toronto
#20
Yes, but within a few hours or a couple of days the apps creep back. Period.
The app creeps back after being killed and without you triggering it. Wow, you've got me bewildered. My apologies. I've not used a task manger since 2.3 and the single tap kill all function in CM has been standard for years now. And I've never seen an app "creep" that I did not trigger myself. I'd know since at most I have 10 apps active since swiping away and app or killing them all outright is quite simple.