iPhones damaged by sweat

Apr 15, 2009
Boston, MA
I’m a producer at 7News in Boston. I’m doing a story on iPhones and water damage. Specifically, iPhones that have been damaged by sweat because they were used at the gym.
As I’m sure you all know, one of the water damage sensors on the iPhone is near the headphone jack, rather than behind the battery, and can be tripped easier (than devices that have a sensor behind the battery).
Has this happened to anyone?
Thank you for your help!

dturner

Zealot
Gold
Dec 15, 2007
Louisville, Ky.
Hasn't happen to me nor have I hear any stories of such here on the forum. We have a lot of new folks though, so maybe someone will chime in.
Good luck with the story.

Youngbinks

Zealot
Gold
Jun 4, 2007
Atlanta, Georgia
I have actually wondered about this personally but I haven't heard any stories from people as of yet that have experienced this issue. A main concern of mine is the headphone sensor's susceptibility to rain drops. I'm always quite paranoid about a rain drop landing right in the headphone jack and tripping the sensor.

Best of luck with the story.

RevRoy

Bronze
Jun 14, 2007
my boss took his to Apple for a warranty issue and they said it had water damage. He the proceeded to tell them that it had not been in water. The guy at Apple told hi that it could have been a drop of rain or even sweat.

Hawk

Genius
Gold
Aug 2, 2007
ATL
There was a post last year about someone that had sweat travel down his headphone cord and got into the phone and triggered the sensor and when he had to go in for a problem, they told him he was SOL.
There are 2 things that the physical portion of the iPhone severely lack in.
1) functionality in different types of weather