iPod touch 1.1.5 -can utilities be added

Discussion in 'iPod Touch' started by irish66, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. irish66

    irish66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, i have an ipod 1.1.5.
    It doesn't have a utilities menu. Is it just too old?
    specifically i would like to be able to read comics and books on it.
     
  2. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    Hello,
    I'm guessing it's too old, as 1.1.5 barely had anything. As my iPod touch running a 4.2 software doesn't been have multitasking.


    Sent from my iPhone 4 using my iPhone 4
     
  3. irish66

    irish66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much. I appreciate you taking the time to respond. I have loaded akira pt 3 onto it, after unzipping
    the cbr files, and does the job. But I would mostly be using it as a listening device, and it's fine for that.
     
  4. Usernam

    Usernam Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could update your iPod. I believe then that you will have the utilities.
     
  5. irish66

    irish66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    When i click "check for update" in iTunes. I'm told i have the latest software.
     
  6. Usernam

    Usernam Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can try downloading the newest version(I am guessing it is a 1st general iPod touch, so the newest is 3.1.3) from www.felixbruns.de. Then go to iTunes and hold the shift button and click on update. A window will come up; choose the iPod file(.ipsw), and click yes when it asks to update. Hope this helps!
     
  7. irish66

    irish66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. unfortunately, i don't think it worked. I wasn't sure to download. I went to that website, but wasn't quite sure which file to download. I couldn't see a version 3.1.3. the only 1g i saw was the version i have.
     
  8. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    Just curious, where are you clicking checking for updates at?
     
  9. irish66

    irish66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi zea lot. I went to the felix bruns website. I did download two different files to see if i could upgrade.
    I right clicked the files and chose open in iTunes. i tunes did open, but it didn't do anything else.
     
  10. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    I don't recommend downloading software from anywhere else.

    To update your iPod, plug it in, go to summary and there in the middle should be a check for update. (At the top should be the iPod picture, serial number, ect)


    Sent from my iPhone 4 using my iPhone 4
     
  11. irish66

    irish66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi. There no summary on my ipod. I think we're on to a loser here folks. i appreciate all the help though.
     
  12. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    It's on iTunes, not the iPod.


    Sent from my iPhone 4 using my iPhone 4
     
  13. irish66

    irish66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh right. check for update, tells me my ipod software is ip to date.
     
  14. Usernam

    Usernam Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    You sure you didn't see it on felixbruns.de? Its under iPad/iPhone/iPod touch. Download it. Go to iTunes, and click restore while pressing shift. Then choose the file you downloaded, and click open. By the way, Double clicking the file will open up iTunes, but it doesn't do anything. I hope this is easy to follow!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. irish66

    irish66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you for sticking with me. I had downloaded from the wrong menu. after the ipod is restored, i get two choices restore from backup of martin's(that's me) ipod (that's me, or set up as a new ipod. for now I'm restoring from a backup. If i choose to setup as a new ipod. will it ask for a file to open?
    the file i downloaded was iPod1,1_3.1.3_7E18_Restore.ipsw
     
  16. Usernam

    Usernam Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. When you restore it from backup, all of your settings and app data(saved game slots, account stuff, etc.) from before you updated it will be put on the iPod. It saves you time so you don't have to go back and manually change the settings.
     
  17. Usernam

    Usernam Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, setting up as a new iPod restores all factory settings, and you choose manually what you want to put on it.
     
  18. irish66

    irish66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thanks again. But sorry I'm obviously missing something, as I cannot get the ipod to upgrade to the latest version. I tried restoring and setting up as a new ipod, but it just backed it up. I cannot get iTunes to ask me
    to open the file from felixbruns
     
  19. Usernam

    Usernam Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try clicking shift and update?
     
  20. irish66

    irish66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, well i clicked update in iTunes, and i'm tolf i have the latest version of my software
     

Share This Page