iTunes error message

1. Tug Member Silver

As many of you know Im new to the world of jailbreaking but I've been doing quite a bit of reading and am getting a better grasp on it. Im currently trying to downgrade from IOS 6.0.1 to 5.0.1 through iTunes. I've downloaded Restore ipsw 3,3_5.1.1.1_9b206 but whenever I try to restore iTunes goes through the process of extracting the software I receive the error message "The iPhone could not be restored, this device is not eligible for the requested build". Can anyone give me some insight as to what Im doing wrong? I've already succeeded at J/Bing my phone with IOS 6.0 but it ran "buggy" so I'd like to restore IOS 5.1.1. Thanks, Tug

2. fijiman Contributor Silver

You need to have saved your SHSH blobs....if you want to restore to 5.x.x

3. Avatar

Sponsored Advertisement

4. Tug Member Silver

Thanks Fijiman, when i had cydia installed the phone was showing that i had 5.1.1 saved on their server. When I tried to rejailbreak after upgrading to 6.0.1 using redsn0w i saved 5.1.1 but Im still receiving the same error.

5. fijiman Contributor Silver

Don't use iTunes.... Just use the new redsn0w to do the restore.

6. ring0_event Member Bronze

Did you save your APTickets and SHSH blobs using redsn0w? This guide shows how you had to do have done that for you to downgrade a non A5 device to 5.x.x. I *THINK* that JUST saving SHSH blobs without APTickets is useless. If not, I would LOVE to revert to 5.1.1, as I do have my SHSH blobs saved.
    http://cydiablog.com/1186/backup-shsh-blobs-aptickets-using-redsn0w/

7. Tug Member Silver

Sorry I meant to say I was using tiny umbrella and the program shows 5.1.1 was saved. thanks again. No OI don't think I saved my tickets and getting redsn0w to j/b 6.0.1 isn't working either. When I was previously j/b using 6.0.0 cydia was showing that I had 5.1.1 saved but didn't mention anything about my AP tickets or atleast not that Im aware of

8. ring0_event Member Bronze