Jailbreak and Apps question

duckdogdrake

Bronze
Aug 14, 2007
I'm new to all this so please be patient with me. I did the ziPhone jailbreak and now im interested in apps. How do I find them and apply them? I'm most interested in a sms app. Thanks

duckdogdrake

Bronze
Aug 14, 2007
Just launch Installer to check out all the (tons) of available apps, including several SMS tools
I've found one that I want and it says to extract latest zip in / directory on iPhone. Do NOT replace MobileSMS.app directory, just copy the files inside it. How do I go about this process?

patrickj

Genius
Gold
Sep 2, 2007
Austin, Tx
ipadinsight.com
I've found one that I want and it says to extract latest zip in / directory on iPhone. Do NOT replace MobileSMS.app directory, just copy the files inside it. How do I go about this process?
If you've found an app out on the web that you download as a .zip file, then just use Winzip or WinRar or similar to extract the file, then run WinSCP or similar to SSH into your iPhone (you'll need to have OpenSSH installed on the iPhone) and copy the ApplicationName.app folder (where the app's name will be there instead of ApplicationName) into the /Applications folder on the iPhone.
Which app is is you're wanting to install? It will be far easier to do it via Installer if it is in there ...

duckdogdrake

Bronze
Aug 14, 2007
If you've found an app out on the web that you download as a .zip file, then just use Winzip or WinRar or similar to extract the file, then run WinSCP or similar to SSH into your iPhone (you'll need to have OpenSSH installed on the iPhone) and copy the ApplicationName.app folder (where the app's name will be there instead of ApplicationName) into the /Applications folder on the iPhone.
Which app is is you're wanting to install? It will be far easier to do it via Installer if it is in there ...

SMSD is the app that I'm most interested in. How do I install OpenSSH and how I find Installer?

patrickj

Genius
Gold
Sep 2, 2007
Austin, Tx