Jailbreaking friends phone Confused and have questions

Discussion in 'iPhone Jailbreak' started by cnmsales, Apr 5, 2012.

1. cnmsales

cnmsales New Member

First let me say I am nt a total newb to the technology world. I am an Android guy and have rooted plenty of those. My buddy has been given an iPhone and I believe it is an iPhone 3gs. Model# is A1303. Version shows as 4.2.1 8c148. He is on tmobile and this is an ATT phone.

So I am in need of some guidance on how to get this working on tmobile for him.

#1 Does the phone have to be jailbroken before it can be unlocked?

If so, can someone point me to a step by step guide to jailbrake it. If not can someone please show me a step by step guide on unlocking it.

I have tried using both blackra1n and redsnow. With BR it stated it was connecting to phone but nothing ever happened. Using red snow, I get the error that the device cant be automatically read or something to that affect.

Let me say thank you in advance for any help and guidance you can give.

2. snowtrooper1966

Gold

Yes, the iPhone must be jailbroken before it can be unlocked for use on tmobile.
    Here is a step by step guide, walks you through most any phone iOS config:

http://www.iclarified.com/unlock/index.php

Have fun!

• Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  3. cnmsales

cnmsales New Member

Snowtrooper, thanks for the fantastic link. When going through the guide it tells me
    Important

There is no unlock for your baseband yet. This phone is on 4.2.1 So can this phone not be JB? Or do I have to upgrade firmware first?

4. snowtrooper1966

Gold

Sorry it was not that easy.....

Ideally, for ease of use, you would want to be on a firmware that supports jailbreakme.com
    4.2.6 through 4.3.3, IIRC.
    It's a method you use right on the device, super easy.
    Since the device has not been JB'd before, not sure u can select specific firmware to update to. May have to go to 5.0, the last firmware Apple officially supported for the 3GS.