Killing the sounds in Words With Friends

1. psylichon

psylichon Genius Moderator

Ok, I love the game, but the inability to disable the sounds is annoying to me. The Android version allows this, so perhaps it's coming soon... but we all know how quickly this developer pumps out updates :)rolleyes:), so I want to be proactive and disable them myself.

I find Words is the type of game I try squeeze in any moment I get the chance, and hearing that ascending "boop boop boop boop boop!" is a dead giveaway I'm gaming at work. Even worse, the sounds do not respond to the volume setting of the phone at all, so you must silence your phone... which is what I end up doing. I'm tired of my phone being completely silent all the time just because of this game.

I've SSH'd in, found the folder, and renamed all the .caf files but this causes WWF to crash upon launch. I opened all the plists I could find and didn't see reference to sounds, but I'm not really good at this sort of thing. Anyone have any ideas of what to try or other directories to look in?

2. iphonewarrior

iphonewarrior Moderator Moderator

Instead of renaming them, why not overwrite the .caf's with a muted .caf instead?

Simple, yet effective ;)

3. Avatar

Sponsored Advertisement

4. psylichon

Hmm, you're a smart man. Wonder if it even needs to be a real .caf file or just a dummy txt renamed? Off to test.

5. iphonewarrior

You can convert AAC files in iTunes then simply rename them to .caf. Use Voice Memo on the iPhone, record about two seconds of nothing. Email the recording to yourself and drag it into iTunes, convert, rename (a few times, as there are quite a few .caf's in Words) and you're sorted :)

6. psylichon

Oh, I know... I make ringtones all the time. Just trying to make things easier is all. Thanks John... I knew you'd be the one answering this one. :)

7. psylichon