Leopards' Blue Screen of Death > Vista

maclaptopuser

Bronze
Jun 13, 2007
I was all excited to upgrade my 1 month old MacBook Pro to Leopard. The install went really well until near the end when the Mac / Windows Blue Screen of Death Appeared. (well documented on Mac forums, except I did'nt see anything about it, because I'm an early adopter)

At first I was not that concerned as I'm a software engineer for a living and use my MacBook Pro for my personal use. I was sure I could fix it and be on my way enjoying the new OS very quickly. Well so much for being optimistic! I think Apple took their eye off the ball on this one when they were building my iPhone, and thus the Leopard project suffered. Just one more black eye for the "perfect boys & girls in Cupertino".

Nonetheless, I'm used to these things, as Apple changes from the great computer company it once was, to the entertainment centric focus that seems to help pump up their ego. "Rock Stars" yeah.... that's what Jobs and company have always wanted to be. Also it's no longer important that it works, it only matters that it has an Apple Logo on it to impress your friends.

No worries I will get it sorted out. I believe that everything happens for a reason, and perhaps the reason here is that Jobs needs to be taken down a notch so that he doesn't slip off his pedestal of Fame and Hurt himself.

In the mean time, I'm super happy that I have a fine new, incredibly reliable ThinkPad which has never let me down. I will toss the MBP in the corner until I feel like fixing a "windows" machine.

geordisjd

Zealot
Bronze
Jul 1, 2007
Because you can't fix it doesn't mean it can't be. The blue screen problem has been well documented on the Mac Forums. The same thing happened to my MacBook Pro and I found the cure in the Apple forums.
Leopard* works flawlessly on it, and on my MacPro, but my Dual G5 had to go back to Tiger.

(*)Don't try this at home on a PPC.

geordisjd

Zealot
Bronze
Jul 1, 2007