Lost personal hotspot iOS5 GM

Discussion in 'iOS Software' started by FuelieNova, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. FuelieNova

    FuelieNova Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    29
    So I updated to the iOS5GM from my deb site and lost the personal hotspot option.
    Any ideas on how to get it back? Been using it since 4.3
    Tom
     
  2. FuelieNova

    FuelieNova Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    29
    Found the problem... had to reset network settings after installing the GM.
    Hope this helps someone else
    Tom
     
  3. Leo

    Leo Zealot
    Silver

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Likes Received:
    132
    I attempted to do just that, however Personal Hotspot was not brought back for me. Is anyone else having this issue?

    EDIT: Tried to do the aforementioned a second time, then browsed to Settings > General > Network > Personal Hotspot faded into existence right there. After that, it was on the main Settings portion again.
     
  4. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    I understand that if you use the personal hotspot feature then the carrier can see you're using it to tether however if you use an 3rd party tweak or app like Mywi of PDA Net or any other they can't know you're tethering. Are you guys paying additional for the hot spot?
     
  5. imutter

    imutter Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Likes Received:
    739
    I had that issue and no I pay for my hot spot
     
  6. FuelieNova

    FuelieNova Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    29
    I pay for my HotSpot. My company pays for it I should say...
    Tom
     
  7. Leo

    Leo Zealot
    Silver

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Likes Received:
    132
    No, it's free with Rogers and uses my current data plan.
     
  8. AeroCare

    AeroCare Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    25
    Finally something good about the Canada carriers, free tethering ! :)
     
  9. Norharishan Nordin

    Norharishan Nordin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's really work after applying reset network settings. u guys rocks!
     
  10. Peter Buzas

    Peter Buzas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it works, BUT.... U will loos ALL your wifi passwords... great solution ;-)
     
  11. Leo

    Leo Zealot
    Silver

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Likes Received:
    132
    Not a big deal (for me), I only had one to remember.
     
  12. fury

    fury Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Likes Received:
    238
    I like to force myself to recall my wifi passwords every now and then anyway, I used to go so long without typing them that I actually forgot em.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Veevee
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    903
Loading...

Share This Page