Mac help

Cheekz185

Feb 25, 2008
OK well im a novice to mac. I was able to obtain Mac OSX Leopard. My friend who has a iMac G5 wanted to upgrade to the new leopard. SO i went over there today to try an upgrade the OS.

I tried to install osx leopard but it came up with errors. Anyway I was told to take the Leopard image and in disc utility to a restoer.

So In Disk Utility I went to RESTORE, for SOURCE I put the osx leopard "sparseimage" file . And for the Destination I made it the Mac HD. I figured that it would create another image file. BUT it did not, what it did was, it made the MAC HDD the Leopard Installer DVD. So now I restarted the Mac and it keeps trying to load the Leopard because it is acting as the Leopard install. While the restore was "COPYING" i saw that in FINDER under the harddrive, an icon was created called OSX Leopard install DVD.

Is there any way I can somehow fix this. I cannot even get on to the desktop.

geordisjd

Zealot
Bronze
Jul 1, 2007
Well, I never heard anything so complicated to install Mac OS X, Leopard or otherwise.:( Sounds almost worse than installing Windows on Parallels.
Did you run disk aid on the G5 before trying to install? Repair the disk permissions? Probably not. Try to force-start the G5 from the Leopard install disk by holding the C key on start up. If it does, get rid of whatever you installed on the HD, run the disk utility from the DVD and try to install again (do a clean install).
Is there a lot of stuff that needs to be saved from that HD?
If the above doesn't work, you may have to connect another Mac to that poor G5 (by connecting them through their firewire ports) and start the G5 in target mode by holding its T key on restart. The G5 HD will mount on the other Mac's HD and from there, you can get rid of the mess (trash it and empty the trash) you installed and run Disk aid. Then disconnect the 2 Macs** and try to install again from the DVD.